UPDATED 1-27-99
Capturing the spirit of the Civil War was an elusive task. If we have overlooked an historical detail, or miscalculated any aspect of game play, when we discover it we will post that information here, so check back periodically. Click here for a PRINTER FRIENDLY version of this document.
We are sad to report that our spies have found a few minor errors in our carefully crafted plans.
We're not saying that anything else is wrong with the game. We just thought a couple of points could use a bit of clarification. GO down to the clarifications.
On Rules Card #R23-ITEM 8, replace the following words in italics with the following words in bold: If a command defends on its own front (in its own theater) but cannot trace supply to its own front (a supply base in that theater), that entire command surrenders if it loses the city (discard to cadre); leaders are sacked.
. On Rules Card #R28. The first sentence of OPTIONAL RULE 6, the words "favor" and "disfavor" should be reversed. The first line should read: No commander with political disfavor in any given Theater may have as many cards (leaders or units, face-down or not) at any time than any leader with political favor in that Theater.
On Rules Card #R23-ITEM 5, replaces this rule: You must draw supply from the first supply base you trace back to. You can't "refuse" supply and thus extend your supply line to another Theater. (This prevents rules perversion.)

With his one: “You may not trace supply back to your home theater if to do so you must trace through a supply base on the front in which you are attacking.”

For example, An Eastern command attacking in the west may not trace supply back to the East if to do so he must trace through a supply base in the west, like Cairo or Cincinnati.

On Rules Card #R43 of the Northern Deck, in the "Hand" section we reversed the numbers of the John Brown's Body card, and the Pauline Cushman card.  Please note the revision.
In the Gettysburg Scenario, we mistakenly placed Cumberland Gap on the Northern Side of the fence in June 1863. It should be in CSA hands.
SUPPLY RAIDS are not attacks, per se, and do not cost a supply point.
. A "friendly" or "friendly-held" city means any city you currently own, whether native or occupied. 
OPTIONAL RULE 7 reads: "Isolation (N): If you attack/defend a city not connected to your supply net, you can't add reserves to battle." It should be noted that units may be withdrawn, however. This applies to units only, NOT to Enigma cards such as "Rebel Yell" or "Old Abe."
If the South attacks Cumberland Gap before Map Card C is in play, Louisville, Lexington, and Bowling Green become Pro-North if/when the North plays plays Map Card C (#12; Neutral KENTUCKY). Put blue markers on them.
If a Naval Squadron is acting as a commander in an INVASION, Soldiers' or Generals' Battles are stalemates.
Enigma cards that affect the "COMBAT DIE ROLL" refer to the Red die roll, not the White die roll.
If USA attacks Mobile (or Pensacola) by land and its outlying fort is rebel controlled, no NAVAL SUPPORT may be used.
No attacks in the WESTERN THEATER are possible for the USA until either side plays Map card C.
On Rules Card R9-ITEM 11 includes the entire command, including any withdrawn cards.
In the case of Bragg, Hooker and Grant, their special directives do not apply when they are serving as subordinates.
If the USA invades the Western Theater, CSA may defend only from the West or its hand.
If you believe you've found a flaw, please contact us via e-mail at:

[email protected]

. Or write to us at: 
Attn. Errata Dept.
318 West 36th Street
Suite 2C
New York, NY  10018

Back to the Blue vs GrayTM HQ.


QED Games


Copyright 1999 Q.E.D. Games, Inc. All rights reserved.  BLUE vs GRAY: THE CIVIL WAR CARD GAME and the term ENIGMA are TM Evan Jones.