Monitor page
for changes
    
   it's private  

by ChangeDetection
THE BATTLES of WATERLOO ERRATA/CLARIFICATIONS
3/21/95

SCENARIOS

QUATRE BRAS: The "Orders LIM" is not available until the 3rd turn, along with the other LIMs. (As there are no other LIMs, every one moves in the NO LIM Phase anyway, and the French have the Initiative, so there's no need for this.)

MT ST JEAN: Yes, Prussian IV LIM is "available" before it can actually be used. The player must wait until Blucher is on-map so that he can expend the CP to place IV LIM in the Pool. Wellington may not use his CP's for Prussian units.

INITIAL DEPLOYMENT in Wavre; Scenario #5: Unfortunately, playtesting failed to reach this section of the Wavre rules. The following changes to the Prussian set-up apply:

  • The I Corps units may be placed in any trail hex between Limale and Limelette, inclusive.
  • All III Corps units are deployed in any hex west of the Dyle and north of the 4900 row, inclusive.

For Exelman's cavalry, that's the road running from 3109, Exelman's may set up with any one of his units, and for Vandamme, it's 1327, not 1237

INITIATIVE in Wavre Essentially, because the Prussians use no LIMs they never get the Initiative. However, players still roll. If the Prussians win, there is no Initiative that turn; if the French win, they may choose their LIM (as is standard).

RULES

LIM ACTIVATION A clarification for the Anglo-Allies: The combat units that are under the Duke's direct command (see 4.75) may be activated when their LIM is pulled (as defined by 4.75) and they are in the Duke's Range.

NO LIM ACTIVATION The Duke of W has an Orders "Rating" of '9' for No LIM Phase activation purposes, relating to those units for which he is listed as Combat Commander on the Hierarchy chart. They must be "activated" by command, though, as normal.

OUT OF COMMAND UNITS 4.9 - and the Sequence of Play - should reflect the fact that Out of Command units may move or attempt to rally, as per 9.33[6].

WITHDRAWAL MOVEMENT Under 4.73, Withdrawal movement takes place between 1 and 2.

TERRAIN 5.25 and the Terrain Chart: There is a Fire adjustment for Firing small-arms (not artillery) across a River or Lake: 1L.

5.26: Rivers and Bridges: The rules pertaining to Bridges across Rivers, as opposed to those across Streams, etc., are different:

  • Units may shock across a River Bridge. If they do so, they halve their SPs, rounding down. In addition, they add one (+1) to any "d" dierolls that result from that combat.
  • Units may cross a river bridge to enter into an enemy ZOC.
  • If a unit must retreat across a River bridge, it doesn't simply Retreat. Instead, the player has two possible results from which to choose: 1. The unit stays in place and loses a Step (in addition to any others it has lost); or 2. It Routs.

Remember, ZOC's do not extend across a river, but they do extend across a bridge. This is important in terms of leaving ZOC's and moving into them, etc.

The terrain rules also apply, where/when applicable, to Scenario #6.

EXTENDED LINES The Basic Premise when a unit is in Line Extended is that it is treated, for all purposes, as one unit.

Second premise is that voluntary extension/retraction costs 1 MP, so if you are in a phase where you cannot/do not expend MP's, you cannot extend/retract. (This means that you cannot extend during Withdrawal, as the latter does not expend MP's)

A Line Extended unit in an enemy ZOC may not voluntarily Retract.

7.46 is somewhat misleading. Regardless of the word "all" in the first line, the maximum of 4 SP's out of a hex (7.31) still prevails. So, the most SP's that an Extended unit could fire would be '8', 4 from each hex.

ROUTED UNITS Routed units, when defending, do not get any terrain benefits. Other than that, all results are applied normally.

Routed units that suffer a Disorder result lose one step, instead.

STACKING An infantry or cavalry unit may move through an unstacked artillery unit, as long as the latter is not on a road/trail.

ASSAULT REQUIREMENTS A unit required to "attack" or "Assault" always falls under 8.26: the requirement to assault is satisfied by Firing. Exception: The requirement that Engaged units "Assault" must be satisfied by engaging in Shock, not just Fire.

SQUARE COMBAT RESULTS: A square that receives a "B" result treats such result as a "D", instead. Thus a "BD" result means it gets Disordered twice.

RETREAT BEFORE ASSAULT Units that do this may change facing at its conclusion.

COMMAND MORALE: When determining Shaken/Shattered Commands:

French use their (entire) corps, with the Cavalry Reserve serving as one corps Prussians use their (entire) corps.

Anglo-Allies use the LIMs to delineate commands. That gives you I Corps, II Corps, the Dutch-Belgians (include cavalry), the Army Reserve, the Brunswickers and the cavalry Corps.

Shaken commands may recover to Normal status; Shattered commands may not.

ENGAGED AND MANDATORY WITHDRAWAL/COMBAT Re: 8.23[5]: Units in Square do not become ENGAGED.

Re: 4.84 and 8.54, D-2 combat units that are Engaged that cannot Withdraw (for whatever reason) undergo a UDD Cohesion check. Fail? They rout; Pass? They stand and do not have to attack.

If a unit is forced to Withdraw because it is out of command and may not Shock, but cannot withdraw because of terrain/enemy presence, it stays in place and suffers a Step Loss, instead. D-2 units use a UDD, as above.

BLOWN AND RECOVERED CAVALRY Cavalry with a "Recovered" marker is D-1, its MA is halved and it cannot move adjacent to an enemy unit.

CAVALRY REDUCED MOVEMENT Re: 5.34. Cavalry using Reduced Movement to leave an enemy ZOC may not enter another enemy ZOC in the same phase. They may move adjacent, however, as long as it is not an enemy controlled hex.

CAVALRY CHARGE: The 8.61 requirements should be read together with 8.26 and ZOC's. Only units in ZOC's may be shocked or charged.

CHARTS The Shock Table. The "-2" line should read (starting with the 1-4 column): 'd' 'D' '1' '1d'; the rest of the line is correct

COUNTERS Maitland's 1/1/I British regiment should be a one-star (*) Elite.