von Manstein's Backhand Blow Errata and Clarifications
as of 24 Jul 2002
New items in blue.

I. Counters

The Soviet 38G unit starts in hex 4426.

The Reconnaissance Kampfgruppe of the 19th Panzer Division (4-4-7) has the wrong unit identification symbol (armored/mechanized infantry). It is armored reconnaissance.

Regarding the entry turn, the Reinforcement Chart is correct; the entry turn listed on the counter is not necessarily correct.

The German Turn 9 reinforcements are scheduled to arrive at hex 1500 per the reinforcement chart. The units enter hex 1602.

The yellow box of Soviet Uprising units reads "No ZOC Band" (Soviet Uprising units don't project ZOCs).

II. Player Aid Cards

The Soviet Reinforcement Schedule mistakenly says "German Units".

The TEC references 16.72, should be 16.22.

III: Series Rules

2.42 states that the German 586th starts in hex 3422; it actually sets up in 3822 as indicated on the counter.

2.43 Integrity should not contain reference to exclusive rules, but if, it should be to 16.24 instead of 16.74.

IV. Exclusive Rules

Kramatorsk (4128) and Konstantinovka (4331) are not treated as cities for Soviet Uprising.

Victory Conditions:

VPs awarded for objectives are earned once (not once each game turn) during the Victory Check Segment; VPs are recorded only if there is a change from a previous turn. If an objective is retaken by the German player, the VPs are subtracted from the Victory Points Track. These events may happen several times during a game, resulting either in VPs added to the Victory Point Track (--> objective liberated by Soviet player), or VPs subtracted from the Victory Point Track (--> objective retaken by German player).

"Soviet unit west of Donets River": VPs are awarded once (not once each game turn) during the Victory Check Segment; VPs are recorded only if there is a change from a previous turn. The VPs are subtracted from the Victory Points Track if the Soviet player does not meet the requirement any longer. These events may happen several times during a game, resulting either in VPs added to the Victory Point Track (--> Soviet unit west of Donets River), or VPs subtracted from the Victory Point Track (--> no Soviet unit west of Donets River any longer).

"German unit east of the Donets River": VPs are subtracted once (not once per game turn) during the Victory Check Segment; VPs are recorded only if there is a change from a previous turn. The VPs are added to the track if the German player does not meet the requirement any longer. These events may happen several times during a game, resulting either in VPs substracted from the Victory Point Track (--> German unit east of Donets River), or VPs added to the Victory Point Track (--> no German unit east of Donets River any longer).

Players receive VPs for inflicting step losses. VPs for step losses are permanent. VPs awarded for enemy step losses are recorded on the Victory Points Track the instant the step is eliminated.

V. Questions & Answers

Q: Combat/move: In SP segments (not general segments) you can both fight and move, or both move and fight, with the same units. And conceivably a unit could be activated in all 3 segments (SP1, SP2, General). For example, a unit could move/fight move/fight fight. So those activated markers are only useful in the General segment.
A: Yes, activated markers are only useful in the General Segment.
Q: On my first combat, I got feint (-1 step) and tactical expertise (halved step losses). Which is first? It makes a big difference. 2 halves to 1, -1 makes it 0. But 2-1=1, which halves to 1.
A: Each player may reduce losses in the order most favorable for him.
Q: Stacking and movement: If you want to move a stack of three units (not from the same formation if you're the German) are you spending one activity point or three? Rules indicate that it's three, whether the stack stays together or not.
A: You have to spend one AP for each unit, regardless if the units stay together or some are dropped during movement.
Q: In the example on page 7, "A" shows that the Soviet Player has Tactical Superiority (5 to 4) and the German may only use 1 Combat Chit. Page 8 shows the chits the German Player drew, with one being "Blitzkrieg" and that one being used for combat resolution. However, on the German Player Aid Card 2, #3 says to treat as "No Effect" the Blitzkrieg Chit if the German Player does not have Tactical Superiority.
A: The Chart is correct.
Q: Regarding Formations (Exclusive, 3.2) are the White color coded (but different identifications, e.g., 298, 46, 619, etc.) German units part of the same formation for Integrity bonus, or are they plain white to indicate that they are not part of any formation?
A: They are not part of any formation.
Q: Can units retreat away from a friendly supply source if doing so would result in fewer step losses (i.e., to avoid an EZOC or crossing a Major River)?
A: Yes.
Q: German Chit #21, Independent Tank support I. When is the "(3)" value used? Is it similar to Chit #22 and used if at least half of the paricipating German units are units of the Waffen-SS? The Player Aid Card doesn't elaborate.
A: The DRM is always "+/-1", regardless of participating Waffen-SS units. Reason: The powerful assets of the Waffen-SS Corps weren't available that early.
Q: Soviet Fronts and AP's for combat. If both Fronts are in range of a combat can the three AP's spent for combat come from two Fronts? (For example: 2 AP's from the Southwest Front and 1 AP from the Voronezh Front)
A: All APs spend for one combat must come from the same Front.
Q: Can Frontnahe Auffrischung replacements be taken if the hex in question is OOS? What if it's adjacent to an enemy unit? Rule [13.1] is very clear about the placement of the Frontnahe Auffrischung markers but not clear about what happens when the replacements are actually received on the following turn.
A: It does not matter if the hex is attacked during the current turn (the units in question may even retreat), or an enemy units moves adjacent to the hex, or the units in question become OOS the next turn.
Q: Can units receiving Personalersatz be in an EZOC?
A: Yes.
Q: What was the official decision with regards to a Random Event that eliminates a side's last C3i point?
A: "Neither side can lose the last one C3I Point due to Random Event. Ignore such results."