Ukraine '43 Errata and Clarifications
as of 24 Jul 2002
New items in blue.
I. Rule Book
II. Player Aid Card
- [15.6] All air units return to their starting base if they are flying either type of support or interdiction mission. To re-base, you flip the unit to flown without conducting any other sort of mission.
- [16.5e] The VP hex must be friendly controlled at the start of the game turn in order to place units from the deadpile in the hex.
- [20.2] Exception: No Soviet airborne brigades may be dropped during the August 3-7 Game Turn, and only one Soviet airborne brigade per turn may be dropped on the August 8-12, 13-17, or 18-22 Game Turns.
- [20.3] new DRM: +2 if dropped in a hex containing an Axis ZOC.
Questions And Answers
- Manstein benefits should read Soviets "can attack again" on C or E, not "re- roll".
- Airborne Drop Table: add DRM +2 if dropped in a hex containing an Axis ZOC
Discussion (from Consimworld
- Q: [4.0] Can leader units use the road bonus of 1/2 mp per hex?
- A: Leaders can indeed move like mechanized units on the roads. The leaders are meant to represent Zhukov, Manstein and their immediate staffs, and not so much.
- Q: [4.10] Does Manstein count against the limit of 3 stacks that can move during reaction or is his move free?
- A: Manstein counts.
- Q: [4.6] Can Zhukov/Manstein use rail movement ? If so, does it count as the one unit per turn?
- A: Yes, both can. Yes, each counts as the one non-reinforcing unit.
- Q: [4.7] Non-mech can move 1 hex in the second movement phase. Is this regardless of movement point cost ? If so, is this "minimum move" available in the first movement phase? "
- A: In the first movement phase, using extended movement is what your units will have to do. The downside is that they cannot engage in combat. Of course, in the second movement phase, if your non-mech units move the one hex allowed, they are not eligible for combat either - works out about the same.
- Q: [4.10] Could activated stacks in the reaction phase split up during movement?"
- A: Yes. Probably will not happen often for the Germans. There usually isn't enough infantry to allow stacks to be built, and the object with mech units is usually to stack them for maximum effect rather than splitting them up. If you are splitting up a mech stack to seal off a breakthrough, some or all of the mech units will likely take step losses. In most cases, it's better to leave a gap open for a turn while you collect the mech units needed to attack in force, then attack, crush and seal it off for good on the next turn.
- Q: [5.5] Can tank armies/panzer corps pick up and drop off units during movement, or does this have to occur before movement starts only?
- A: Yes they can do both while moving. The "slowest movement allowance in the stack" applies to all units in the stack, whether starting or joining during movement. During the Exploitation Phase, it could be possible that a Tank Army or Panzer Corps could not receive an Assault marker if a unit which joins does not have sufficient MPs remaining to receive the marker.
- Q: [7.4] If two airborne land on either side of a ZOC hexside bond, do they negate that bond for other units trying to get through that turn?
- A: Yes they do. Refer to example A of the diagram on page 7 of the rulebook. Its an interesting exercise in risk-taking to commit these brigades to such an enterprise when there is a one in three chance that a unit essential to negating a ZOC Bond may die.
- Q: [8.9] When dealing with heavy casualties[8.9] is the primary die roll referred to the actual roll for combat, or is it a separate roll?
- A: Yes, the primary die roll is used to determine heavy casualties (unless you are using Zhukov for an attack, and then they are automatic regardless of primary die roll or terrain).
- Q: [8.9] If attackers suffer no "regular" combat losses, but take one heavy loss, "Heavy Casualties" takes preference over "Strongest Unit," correct? That is (assume no Sappers), the attacker in this situation could take the loss from the weakest (or any) unit, not the strongest, correct?"
- A: Heavy casualties are separate and distinct from normal combat losses, so strongest doesn't apply. Any step can be a heavy loss step except when your Sappers are being used to gain a column shift.
- Q: [9.2] What is the total defensive modifier for Taganrog?
- A: Taganrog is a town - gets the +3. Taganrog also has the German front line fortification printed on it, so the defender gets another +3, the Soviet mech and cav units get halved, and there's a 4 out of 6 chance for heavy casualties. Better maybe to break through further north and cut the place off before trying to take it out.
- Q: [9.4] Can a force composed entirely of mechanized units attack enemy units across a major river?
- A: Yes, such a force can. The attack strengths are halved (rounding up), and there can be no advance after combat. An entirely mechanized attack may be able to inflict a step loss or retreat on a German defender, but can in no way exploit any gain it makes. You may also lose a mech step in the process.
- Q: [9.10] Does the German tactical superiority roll apply to the secondary die roll(s) also? In other words, if a 1/1 (DRX Primary row of table) is rolled for the secondaries, does it become a -/1?
- A: Sorry, no. Tactical superiority is good only for converting DRXs into DR1s. There are no DRXs in the secondary die roll column - just step losses which you must take if you receive them.
- Q: [9.10] The German Tactical Superiority, does that apply to German ally units also?
- A: The section dealing with Soviet attacks can be run either way you prefer because we did not specify. Personally, if the Soviets attack a lone Axis Ally unit, I re-roll. My inclination is to place more value on defensive firepower than possible Axis Ally tactical shortcomings.
- Q: [10.1] Cities negate the retreats on DR results, what about the disruption that DR's normally cause?
- A: If there's no DR, there is no Disruption.
- Q: [10.1] (Retreats) states that units in city hexes do not retreat on DR results-does that mean that they must not retreat, or they may not retreat at the option of the defending player? I assume the latter.
- A: Your assumption is correct--units in cities have the option to retreat on a DR result.
- Q: [15.6] Defensive Air support and interdiction are placed during your own second combat phase, right? Regarding defensive Air, this implies you have to guess where the enemy will attack after his movement, or am I wrong here?
- A: You are correct. You do have to guess. Most of my air missions were offensive air support because a column shift on the attack was worth more to me than the points on defense. Still, there were times when the Soviets were obviously massing for attacks, and there wasn't much guesswork needed to determine where to place an air counter to aid in the defense. Five extra points placed on a city like Kharkov can make it tough for the Soviet to gain good odds.
- Q: [15.6] If an air unit provides defensive support, does it have to return to its city of origin on the next turn to be active, or can it be flown to any friendly city?
- A: Rule 15.3 states "Repositioning counts as a mission." If you use your air unit for offensive spot, defensive spot, or interdiction, it must return to the base it started from. Repositioning is not so much about whether or not the planes could make it to a new base, but that the ground support and maintenance personnel in one turn's time can either arm, maintain and repair the planes where they are or pack up and move to a new location. To rebase, you flip the unit to flown without conducting any other sort of mission.
- Q: [16.1] Do Soviet replacements have to enter from the map edge, or can they reappear at cities the way the Jerries do?
- A: Any friendly VP hex will do. The red star entry hexes are listed primarily for use in early scenario play where the Soviets may not have an abundance of VP hexes captured yet.
- Q: [18.2] Can Assault Markers and Bridge Train Markers be placed in the same hex?
- A: Yes, they can. In many cases you will definitely want to have the bridge built in a hex containing assault units.
- Q: [18.3] Does a bridge negate the 1/2 or -1 for attacking across a minor/major river hexside?
- A: No. The bridges do nothing to ease your pain when attacking across a river/major river.
- Q: [18.5] When is a German unit considered to be adjacent to a Soviet pontoon bridge? Is it when the German unit occupies one of the two hexes being bridged? Or is it when the German unit moves adjacent to the pontoon bridge marker?
- A: It has to be one of the two hexes being bridged.
- Q: [19.1] In the rules for disruptions and fortifications, two (minor) conflicting rules appear. On section says German units in a fortification being built hex are immediately disrupted, the other rule says the Germans are only disrupted if in the ZOC of a Soviet. Which one should I go by?
- A: The Germans are disrupted only if in a Soviet ZOC - otherwise no effect.
- Q: [21.0] The 4 starting security divisions have movement restrictions but does the 1 arriving as a reinforcement on turn 1?
- A: Only if you end its movement in a city. Still if you deploy it up north where it is probably needed most, it won't be restricted long even if it does end up in a city. It is often useful in helping to hold Kharkov, releasing a two- step division to fight out to the west, and in any event, usually this new Security Division gets eaten up pretty quickly.
- Q: [20.2] Soviet airborne; are they allowed to try a paradrop into enemy ZOC bonds?
- A: Yes they can. Refer to example B of the diagram on page 7 of the rulebook.
- Q: [22.5] When you bring back a Guards Breakthrough Artillery does it get "free" rail movement (that is, doesn't count against the 1 per turn?)
- A: Correct. Treat the Guards Artillery as you would a regularly scheduled reinforcement. It does not count as the one on-map unit you may also move by rail.
- Q: [26.1] If Zhukov attacks a second time, the second attack also automatically takes heavy casualties?
- A: Yes, every time you roll utilizing Zhukov.
- Q: [26.1] The player aid card says that use of the Zhukov counter allows the Russian to "re-roll" a C or Ex result, whereas the rule book says that the Zhukov counter allows the Russians to attack a second time – which is correct?
- A: The latter. If you get a "C" or "EX" result on your initial Zhukov attack, you attack twice, suffering all results of both attacks. If you roll a C or EX with your primary die roll, you take your automatic step loss for Zhukov heavy casualties, and (if EX) reduce your strongest attacking unit, plus take any steps lost due to magnitude 2 or 3. Then you re-roll at the same odds level, take another step loss for Zhukov heavy casualties plus any other step losses mandated by the primary and secondary die rolls. Attacking with Zhukov can be quite costly, but you can see where it will wear out the German defenders in a hurry. Best not to leave stacked mech or a Pz Corps where they can get hit by a Zhukov attack - you could lose a lot of irreplaceable mech steps in a hurry.
- Q: [26.1]"To use Zhukov's second combat roll ability, does the C or EX result have to come from the primary die or will any die do?
- A: Has to be the primary die roll - the secondaries are all expressed in terms of steps lost.
- Q: [27.0] Does the Central Front marker function as a HQ as far as coordinating large battles?
- A: The Central Front marker is informational only - it is not a HQ. It is colored differently, and does not have HQ configuration.
- Q: [31.2] Which 4 units should be reduced for the historical setup?
- A: Virtually any of them. All of the Zitadelle divisions had taken serious losses, and the non-Zitadelle divisions had never been built up to full strength before the attack. Going by Glantz's figures in "The Battle of Kursk," my picks would be 5SS, 3 Pz, 11 Pz, and 19 Pz, but this is certainly not definitive.
- Q: Where is Manstein on the 11x17 cards?
- A: When we put the cards into the final format, we deleted the hex containing Manstein, as much to let players decide where to place it as to save space. Manstein went in the hex directly under the 4 Pz A HQ.
- Q: Some of Soviet and German air units don't appear on the cards either. Where do they start?
- A: Your considerations are front coverage and positioning to avoid movement for several turns. Two of the German air units are shown - personally, I'd place the third one at Poltava. From Poltava the unit can cover a lot of front, and it won't be forced to burn a turn relocating for several turns. Also, I'd have placed the unit at Merefa further back from the front. For the Soviets, placement can be much closer to the front lines because, for them, the front will be moving away from them. My choices would be Sudja and Proletarski up in the Voronezh Front area.
- Q: Is there any difference at all between Mechanized/Panzer Grenadier units and Tank/Panzer units? As far as I can tell they behave the same in the game system.
- A: Tank/Pz and PG/Mech units all behave the same in UK '43.
- In the South, I start building forts on turn one in victory cities. Hopefully, I'll have enough infantry units around to survive the initial artillery onslaught to hold on to those southern hexes as long as possible. Up north, I hide my mech units behind a line of ZOC bonded infantry and perform an ASL-like skulking tactic of hitting the big Soviet tank companies on the first combat turn, then ducking my tail and running. Finally, around turn six or seven, I start retreating to the Dnepr and begin building a second line of defense. There's still too much carnage on the German side to give me any comfort in my strategy, but at least now Germans are taking a toll on those big Soviet tank companies and slowing down the victory point accumulation.
- I've also found that concentrating your panzers into one hex behind the lines gives you more options during reaction that spreading them out.
- For petrol supply, the Soviets must trace a line of supply, regardless of enemy units, seven hexes to a supply source (friendly railroad hex). Thus, if you haven't advanced the railheads the Soviets will run out of fuel. For unit supply, the distance can be traced overland to a road and then to a supply source. as long as Soviet's keep mech units moving close to the rail heads, they shouldn't have any trouble maintaining petrol supply. When they start to penetrate the German lines, it's absolute imperative that they stick with the rail heads, or they'll be sitting ducks to those roving Panzer companies.
- Other than your map edge supply source hexes (which are too far away to be of any use) your closest supply source hexes will always be your railheads. Your Soviet mech units will definitely outrun the railheads when the "bug-out" to the Dnepr commences, and down south in the area between the Perekop Isthmus and the lower bend of the Dnepr, you'll notice an absolute lack of available rail lines. Once you bust through the Panther Line and chase the Germans north of the Dnepr, you may want to withdraw a lot of your mech units for use up north. For starters, they aren't the best for cross-river assaults, and on any given turn, a significant number of them will be sucking wind after the Petrol Shortage die rolls are made.