Monitor page
for changes
    
   it's private  

by ChangeDetection
Tigers in the Mist Errata and Clarifications
as of 25 July 2002
New items in blue.

Map:

Sequence of Play: "7. Supply Phase" should be relabeled "Attrition Phase."


Rules:

5.23: change "white triangle" to "green triangle"

6.0: In the sequence of play, IV-VII should read "Steps I, II and III above are repeated..." instead of "Steps II and III above are repeated..."

8.34: Delete the word "have"

8.34: Units may not cross rivers where there is no bridge or blown bridge. The first paragraph of 8.2 clearly states that movement between adjacent areas must be along roads.

11.11: Some US reinforcements specify multiple zones for their initial deployment (eg. D E F). The owning player may place those reinforcements in the possible entry zones in whatever combination he prefers.

11.33: Superiority in only one of the listed areas is sufficient to release Axis contingent reinforcements. The OB cards for the scenarios are very explicit compared to the rules.

11.34: German reinforcements are not released if the unit(s) in the release area are placed OOS during the same game impulse superiority for release is achieved.

12.22: To effect control of a VP area, a unit must end an impulse in the area. Units can later move out of the area and it will still generate VP for that side, but the initial change of possession must be effected by a unit ending a player impulse in the VP area.

12.22: VP for control of on board areas is only scored if the units in the VP area are in supply at the end of the turn.

12.26: The German player scores VP normally at the end of the 22-1 impulse in the scenarios that end on 22-1. For scoring purposes, this one impulse counts as an entire day.

13.21: Attrition losses occur simultaneously for both sides. Therefore attrition losses have no effect on the OOS condition of any of the affected units for the current Attrition Phase.

14.13: In the smaller scenarios, the German Special Forces Unit may not be placed outside of the scenario lines for the scenario being played.


Examples of Play:

Combat; the US mech unit shown in the example should have a strength of three in order to agree with the text.


5th Panzer Army Scenario card:

For impulse 20-1, Beaufays and Oneux should be deleted from the list of areas for conditional reinforcements because they lie outside the map boundary for the scenario.


7th Army Scenario card:

Turn Record Track: the first "16-3" should be a "16-2".


Introductory Scenario
Special Rules

Add: For the Seventh Army scenario ONLY, Mersch is also a US supply source.


Counters:

Due to an oversight, no substitute Wehrmacht mech units were printed. Use SS mech substitutes instead. We hope to print some in an upcoming issue of C3i.


Questions and Answers

Q. (7.2) Is it legal to overstack in an area by bringing in fresh troops from behind the line and take the stacking losses from weak or already committed units?
A. No. Rule 7.2 was written so that there was a penalty for mistaken overstacking, not so it could be twisted in an unreasonable fashion so as to circumvent the intent of the general stacking limit rules. Killing your own exhausted troops in order to make room for fresher units is not allowed.
 
Q. (8.28) May a unit in a scenario enter the active playing area at a location where it would be out of supply?
A. No. See Rule 8.28.

Q. (8.28) Is a supplied unit allowed to move so that during the move it's OOS, but at the end in supply?
A. No.

Q. (8.28, 13.23) May a unit that is out of supply move away from it's own lines?
A. A unit that is OOS may move further OOS (one area). If it is not OOS, it may not move so as to become OOS.
 
Q. Under Rule 8.34 and 8.35, mechanized/motorized/engineer unit can cross a river as foot infantry. Is this OK?
A. Yes, they may cross, but must move at 5 MP during that impulse and all following impulses until they can trace a supply line back to a supply source without the supply line crossing a blown bridge.
 
Q. (8.3) Friendly Unit A (foot infantry) starts next to bridge and attempts to cross. Enemy Unit X blows bridge. Unit A loses 1 MP, so now has 4 MPs. Can Unit A cross river (3 for river crossing, +1 for entering enemy occupied area)?
A. Yes, it can still cross the river for 4 additional MP (total of 5).
 
Q. (8.3) Same situation as the above question, but Unit A just decides to cross the river so the bridge won't be blown. Is this legal?
A. Not legal. If the bridge is up, you must attempt to cross using it.
 
Q. (8.34) At what point in a turn does a mech unit announce it's going to move strictly on foot in order to cross a river at a blown bridge?
A. Whenever the owning player chooses, so long as the unit does not spend more than 5 MP. The owning player can see if the bridge is blown first prior to changing to foot mode.
 
Q. (8.52) Can an engineer moving as foot infantry (across a blown bridge) move 3 MP and then entrench?
A. No. It costs engineers 4 MP to entrench. Engineers moving as foot infantry have only 5 MP.
 
Q. (8.53) May an infantry unit move and in the next impulse, on the same day, entrench?
A. No.
 
Q. (9.14) If units move out of a contested area and leave some other units behind, must the units left behind attack the defending units or become committed (receiving a "moved" marker)?
A. No. Units in a contested area are only required to attack or become committed if other units starting in that area or entering it attack defending units in the contested area.
 
Q. (9.46) If all attackers in a battle are eliminated, does their supporting artillery get to fire?
A. Yes.
 
Q. (9.51) When motorized/mech/engineer units cross a river as foot infantry and go to combat in the destination Area, can I treat these units as mechanized in combat?
A. The unit quality does not change as a result of the river fording rules.

Q. (9.46) (9.53) The attacker has four 1SP units: eng, mech, armor, foot infantry. May defending artillery fire on the engineer? Is the defenders 1SP foot unit constrained to fire on the attacking foot infantry or amy it also fire on the engineer (if it survives the artillery shot?
A. Yes. Artillery may fire on the engineer. In this situation, 9.53 would be superceded by rule 9.52. So unit quality requirements for targeting by ground units would be in effect. The defender must fire on the foot unit.

Q. (10.21) Can units in an Perimeter Zone blow a bridge? It looks like the Allied player can leave reinforcing units in Zones G and H and blow bridges in the face of advancing Germans.
A. Yes.

Q. (10.23) Does a defending infantry type unit get a bridge demolition die roll for each unit that attempts to cross the SAME bridge into its area or only one per impulse?
A. No. There is only one bridge demo roll per bridge per impulse.

Q. (10.23) Could a stack of defending infantry type units attempt to blow up two bridges each or is the two bridge limit/Impulse the limit for the whole stack?
A. The limit is per unit. For example: The US has a unit in Trois Ponts. The Germans try to enter from Vielsalm, Stavelot, and Stoumont. The US unit can only attempt to blow two of those bridges. If the US had two units in Trois Ponts, they could attempt to blow all three bridges as the Germans tried to cross each, however they get only one demo attempt per bridge.

Q. (10.24) An enemy unit is defending behind a river. Unit A enters the defenders area. The bridge either blows or doesn't, but unit A has enough movement to enter the area in either case. Later in the same impulse, the player on the move attempts to move unit B into the defenders area via another bridge. May the defender attempt to blow this bridge?
A. Yes. Rule 10.24 specifies that the defender may not blow bridges only if the attacker has a unit in the area at the start of the impulse.
 
Q. (11.14) When a player wants to enter a reinforcement from a different zone, when must he announce his intention?
A. On the impulse he intends to move the units. Example: A reinforcing unit is placed in zone E on 17-1. On 17-2 it can enter at zone E [with no MP penalty] or at zones D or F with the MP penalty.
 
Q. (11.21) What happens if a German unit enters a VP zone where Allied reinforcements has been placed this impulse or if Allied units were left in the zone from an earlier impulse. Are the Allied units forbidden to leave that zone and enter an adjacent area?
A. Yes.
 
Q. (11.21) If yes, can they "move" to an adjacent zone following rule 11.14, next impulse at a cost of 2 MPs per zone?
A. Yes
 
Q. (13.21) Units of each side occupy adjacent areas. During following impulses, both become OOS. (Both OOS units are part of the reason the other is OOS) Which unit suffers OOS attrition first? This could be critical since one unit surrendering might open an LOS to the other.
A. The rules don't specify attrition order. Therefore both sides suffer attrition simultaneously, irregardless of the effect of the attrition on the OOS condition of any of the affected units.

Q. 5th panzer Army Scenario: Rules say that: "The scenario ends at the end of the German December 22 - 1 impulse". This says to me that the game ends at the end of phase II, and that it goes directly to IX Victory phase. No US move or combat and no Attrition phase.
But then, back at the beginning of the rules under 6.0 there is an exception that says each player gets an impulse on 22 - 1.
As I see it the exception refers solely to the Campaign. In the 5th Panzer the Germans only get a 22 - 1 impulse. Not the US.
A. Correct

Q. The question that is left in my mind is: Is there an Attrition Phase in either scenario?
A. No