Monitor page
for changes
    
   it's private  

by ChangeDetection
This Accursed Civil War Errata and Clarifications
as of 10 May 2002
New items in blue.

I. Glossary

  • Light Infantry include Musketeers, Commanded Muskets and Dragoons.
II. Basic Rules
  • [5.1.2] Should read for clarity MOVE: An AC has a movement allowance of 8. He may move with a unit he is stacked with advances after Close Combat or Retreats. He may move with a unit that advances or retreats through his hex (swept up in the advance or retreat). Then 5.2.2 should read MOVE: An WC has a movement allowance of 8. He must move with a unit he is stacked with advances after Close Combat or Retreats. He must move with a unit that advances or retreats through his hex (swept up in the advance or retreat).
  • [5.4.3] Out of Command effects. The second point is confusing and will be dropped. The effects are: must move to be in command, may not move adjacent to an enemy unit and may only reaction fire. The ability of the AC to reform and rally as his action is not affected by a unit being out of command.
  • [5.6.1] CHARGE : All units MUST end their activation at least one hex closer to an enemy unit. If already adjacent to an enemy unit the unit may not move other than to change facing or wheeling. (The fire requirement was left over from when infantry had a 2 hex range, but this was dropped in play test for historical accuracy, and it contradicted 9.1.1).
  • [5.6.3] Units under Receive Charge orders may move 1 hex, but not adjacent to an enemy unit.
  • [6.3.3] Open Order - For Fire and Close Combat all units in Open Order are treated as if they are Formation-Shaken.
  • [Diagram page 8] The diagram at the bottom of page 8 is incorrect. Light infantry do not take a formation hit when crossing the hedge/berm.
  • [7.6] Orders restriction on moving in relation to enemy units still applies (5.6).
  • [9.6] Fire combat is asynchronous and results are applied immediately.
  • [10.3.4] Casualties are deducted from a unit's strength when calculating strength ratio in Close Combat. Odds are rounded in the defender's favor.
  • [10.4.5] Unable To Retreat table - A Stand Result returns the unit to Morale-Shaken, in essence a "free" rally.
  • [11.4.3] Morale Broken units have no formation. They may not perform any action except Rally. When Rallied the player may choose the unit's facing.
  • [11.4.3] The references are wrong. 10.4.2 should be 10.4.5 and 12.3 should be 12.4.
  • [11.5.2] Should read for clarity: EFFECTS: Units that reach their casualty threshold immediately lose one morale level (11.4.1). They may never be rallied past Morale Shaken. They must take a MC when they suffer any hits in a subsequent Fire Combat (9.6.4).
  • [12.2.1] The reference in rule 12.2.1 should be 12.3 not 12.4 .
  • [12.3.2] The rules have two 12.3.2.
III. Playbook
  • The marker removal phase is missing from Sequence of Play on the back of the playbook. It should be at the end.
IV. Counters
  • ] The last Parliamentary musketeer unit on sheet 2 is missing its "FS" on the reverse side.
V. Charts
  • Terrain Effects Chart - The Hedge Lined Berm is a Hexside Feature, not an in Hex Feature, Treat as a Hedge Hexside.
VI.Scenario Errata
  • Edgehill
    • Edgehill is 10 turns long (the Playbook is incorrect).
    • Byron Cavalry is 4-6 not 4-7. The counter is correct.
    • Belasyse is 20-7 not 18-7. The counter is correct.
  • 1st Newbury
    • Byron is 18-8, not a 15-8. The counter is correct.
    • I, II, III Bryon counters are in fact I, II, III Byron
    • The Tumuli (Roman Era Burial Mounds) are treated like a hedge-lined road hex, but d not block LOS.
  • Marston Moor
    • Warren 5-7 is actually Moore 4-7 Counter (Warren was the Colonel, Moore was the Lt. Col and the one present).
    • The Dragoon unit on the Parliament Right (T. Fairfax's Wing) is an English Dragoon (Red) not Scottish (Green) (It is Fairfax's Northern Association Dragoons).
    • The Slope of the hill is quite gentle and does not effect movement, the only effect is to stop grazing fire.
    • The Ditches are for historical reference only and have not effect on play.
    • The Allied Center Replacement Leader Hamilton was dropped from the counter mix as he was fourth in line and was never used in play testing.
  • Second Newbury
    • Douglas' 2-5 is a Commanded Musket unit that is indeed missing, a 2-6 Dragoon unit will fill in nicely.
  • Naseby
    • I/1 and II/1 New Model Horse are 3-7s not 3-8s. The counter is correct.
    • I/Fiennes is a 3-6 not a 2-6 (I incorporated a troop of the Associated horse into the counter to eliminate stacking). The counter is correct.
    • Maurice 3-7 and Maurice LG 2-8 were originally for Naseby, but they were consolidated into one Maurice 3-8, based on the latest troop strength data. The two counters are now extras.
    • Kings LG/Rupert's Bluecoats setup in 1517 & 1518 not 1516 & 1517.

Clarifications

  • You can use your own choice of orders at the start of a battle. The only exceptions are 2nd Newberry and Marston Moor, at least for history's sake. Note this is not clearly stated in the rules or playbook.
  • The York Contingent in Marston Moor and Col. Okey's Dragoons at Naseby are both independent wings, they have their own orders and are treated the same as any other wing.

Questions and Answers

Q. The Charts indicate that the "+1 WC adjacent to enemy unit (not morale broken)" drm applies to both Continuation and Preemption, but the rules (4.3.3/4.4.4) only mention it for Preemption. Does the drm indeed apply to both Continuation and Preemption attempts? Also I may just be rusty with the system here, but 5.1 states that the active Army Commander can "Influence a Continuation or Preemption", but a Preemption is only attempted by an inactive Wing Commander. So how does an active AC influence an inactive WC's Preemption attempt?
A. The Army Commander may influence both continuation and preemption. Influencing a preemption is only slightly different as the wing doing so is not currently active, the attempt if successful constitutes the AC's 1 action that he can perform. For example: at Naseby say T. Fairfax is adjacent to Skippon. When Skippon is Active, Fairfax may do 1 thing - he chooses to influence a continuation. The next turn they are still adjacent and Astley is due to activate, Skippon attempts to Preempt with the influence of Fairfax, he succeeeds, but Fairfax's 1 action is already done, but Skippon continues his activation normally. Obviously influencing a failed preemption is a freebie...
Q. For the purposes of 7.4.2 (Facing Change) and 7.4.4 (Withdrawal), does one use the MPs the enemy unit has left at the time the reaction is triggered or use its printed MP?
A. The movement used for reaction is the movement allowance available to the moving unit, thus a cavalry with a formation hit has 4 MPs.
Q. One question we had in all that action was the effect of a Close Combat D-Elim result on a musketeer unit stacked with the eliminated cavalry?
A. Commanded muskets have no effect on close combat but share the fate of the cav unit they are stacked with (thus any formation hits, retreats etc.)
Q. Morale Broken units must move during the Rout Movement Phase, but it doesn't say whether they can or cannot move during their wing's activation.
A. Morale broken units can ONLY move in the rout movement phase
Q. [7.5.1] says that cavalry can attempt to intercept if a unit is in its "Front or Flank arcs." How is the flank arc traced? That is, assume there's a cav unit in hex 2505 facing the vertex between 2405 and 2406. Is hex 2604 in its flank arc?
A. No, the 'flank arc' is through each side of the unit. In the example above, straight down the 25xx hexrow.
Q. On the Continuation table, the modifier for being adjacent to an enemy unit is in the section that applies to both continuations and preemptions. However, in the text of the rules in 4.3.3 and 4.4.4, this modifier applies only to preemptions. Does it, indeed, apply also to continuations?
A. Yes
Q. Since roads and tracks aren't on the TEC, I assume they should be ignored. Thus, even if a cav unit is going down a road, if it crosses a hedge hexside it will still take a formation hit, yes? (This affects the Royalist Right at Edgehill.)
A. Roads/tracks have no effect
Q. The command rules [5.4] discuss infantry and cavalry. Do they also apply to artillery units? That is, do arty units have to be in command to perform non-reaction fire?
A. Artillery can fire without being in command
Q. [10.7.1] says that cavalry can ignore pursuit when the broken unit is a light infantry unit. I assume this also applies when the eliminated unit is a light infantry unit, yes?
A. Yes
Q. Under [10.3.6], a cavalry attacker gets a momentum modifier if he moves straight the last two hexes. What if two cavalry units attack, and only one meets this restriction? Does the attacker still get the modifier?
A. [10.1.4] has the defender picking the modifiers most advantageous to him
Q. 10. The Leader Replacement Table [5.3.3] on a result of 1 says that the original leader returns next turn. Does he appear during the Marker Removal Phase at the end of the turn?
A. Yes
Q. Morale Broken units must move during the Rout Movement Phase. But it doesn't say whether they can or cannot move during their wing's activation. If they could, they'd be bouncing back and forth, which seems odd. Can they indeed move during their wing's activation?
A. Morale broken units can ONLY move in the rout movement phase
Q. A combined cavalry/light infantry stack takes a casualty. Who takes the hit?
A. Owner's choice
Q. [8.2.1] says that when a stack of cav and light inf is in a close combat, to ignore the inf. So what happens if the cavalry unit is eliminated?
A. If the cavalry unit is eliminated so is the light infantry.
Q. While a leader is off-map for a turn recovering, his generic replacement is eliminated. I assume this counts as 10 VPs, even though the replacement wasn't gonna stick around very long, yes?
A. Yes.
Q. 15. If a leader's entire wing is wiped out while he's off map recovering, I assume that he doesn't count for VPs and just doesn't return to the map.
A. Yes
Q. If a unit retreats into the reaction zone of an enemy unit not involved in the close combat causing the retreat, can the enemy unit execute reaction fire?
A. Yes
Q. The Rout Movement rules say that units whose morale state is broken have no formation state. So when a morale broken unit rallies, does it also automatically reform to formation state Good.
A. They should be in Formation Broken after rally.
Q. The rules don't seem to explicitly state this, but I assume that casualties are taken into account when calculating close-combat odds.
A. Yes
Q. It seems that in a lot of cases, inactive infantry units could either use reaction movement or reaction fire. I'm assuming the player decides which, and that the unit cannot do both.
A. Only 1 reaction for any trigger so it is either fire OR move
Q. [9.7.1] describes the "reaction zone" as being the front or flank hexes. Do the units turn before firing or do they fire "sideways"?
A. All units can fire through their flank (except artillery) - for heavy infantry there is a different column on the table, for Cav and Light Infantry there is a modifier.
Q. Do formation hits from terrain effect retreating units from combat? (Yes?)
A. Yes.
Q. In cavalry pursuit [10.7.1] Pursue and Eliminate: If the pursuer is intercepted and stopped, does the retreating unit still eliminated? Pursue off map, is the retreating unit eliminated?
A. Yes, Yes.
Q. [9.7.2] says to apply a -1 DRM to reaction fire against moving cavalry. This modifier appears on the Musket table, but not on the light inf/cav table. Does is also apply to the latter type of fire?
A. No - It is a difference in how these formations fired
Q. [10.7.2c] implies you can roll for leaders that left the map as if they were casualties. If you roll a 2 or greater, does that mean the pursuing leader is considered eliminated for VP purposes?
A. No - In this case you are merely seeing if he is coming back, historically this happened to Thomas Fairfax at Marston Moor
Q. If the pursuit roll result is 2+ (pursue off map), I assume that the loser and any leaders stacked with him are considered eliminated, yes?
A. Yes - A Pursuit result eliminates the pursued, including leaders.
Q. When a broken units attempts to rally, does it roll against it's original moral, or it's broken morale of one? Does shaken morale effect rally?
A. When rallying the die roll is against the adjusted morale so morale shaken is printed morale less one, and morale broken is 1...
Q. The rules and charts are contradictory on whether units under charge orders can reform or rally. The chart along with 5.6.1 say no. 5.1.2/12.3.2 say no order restriction. Which is it?
A. Units in a wing under charge orders can't reform or rally unless the Army Commander is stacked with the unit and uses his activation. That is the reference to 5.1.2 and 12.3.2
Q. Can cav reform formation and reload with one reform action?
A. No, each takes a separate reform action.
Q. What's the difference between Commanded Muskets and Musketeers? Especially in regards to fire.
A. Commanded muskets are considered light infantry and use the light infantry fire table. Some of the counters list then as musketeer
Q. There are no restrictions on Salvo fire except once per turn and only by heavy infantry right? So I first fire with one side and then salvo fire with the other side.
A. If you salvo fire with one side of the counter, the entire unit is marked salvo fire and gets the -1 modifier.
Q. Which takes precedence? Move 1 hex closer due to Charge command or move to be in command due to OOC.
A. Move to be in command.
Q. Does a morale broken unit which can retreat one hex only retreat that hex and then check on the Unable to Retreat table?
A. Yes.
Q. Can advancing fire trigger reaction movement? The rule specifically mentions that it will trigger reaction FIRE, but we were unsure if it counts as "movement" or not.
A. The original intent was for reaction movement to be at a range of 2 hexes, the "within" is this case was meant to be going from a range of 3 to 2 hexes.
Q. Can a unit withdraw after a unit moves adjacent? The rules say "within 2", but we couldn't decide if that means "just 2" or "1 or 2".
A. Advancing fire is a reaction trigger, it was assumed most folks would want to return fire but given the situation you may use reaction facing - since the unit is also moving adjacent reaction movement is not permissible per question 1.
Q. Reaction movement allows two-hex infantry to turn "2 hexes". Is this true even if the unit is FS and therefore doesn't technically have enough MP to pull this off?
A. The original intent is that all reaction types are constrained by the movement allowance (including the effects of formation hits at the beginning of movement) so in this case the infantry unit would have insufficient movement to wheel 2 hexes, but could wheel 1 hex.
Q. Must a unit make a morale check just for reaching it's casualty threshold?
A. The is no morale check when the casualty threshold is reached, the unit is immediately and permanently Morale Shaken.
Q. Charge orders require a unit to move "1 hex closer to an enemy unit". Does this refer to ANY enemy unit or the closest?
A. Go as written, you can charge to the rear if the enemy is in your rear and it gets you closer an enemy unit... It doesn't have to be the closest enemy unit.
Q. Are there any circumstances where a unit can move AND reform without using the AC?
A. Each unit may perform only one action: move, fire, rally or reform. But remember that command is judged at the moment the unit is activated, so you could move the WC or other units to bring an OOC unit into command then it could reform.
Q. A unit is Formation Broken, it's fired on by artillery and receives a formation hit. It has no effect, right?
A. In the case of artillery fire, units that are formation broken and receive a formation hit take a casualty.
Q. Can a cavalry unit reform and recover a pistol reload in the same reform action?
A. Nope, each requires it's own reform action. You can't reload when you are busy moving your horse back into line.
Q. Can a rallied Formation Broken unit automatically change facing (so as to face the enemy again) or must it wait for another activation?
A. When Rallied from Morale-Broken to Morale-Shaken, a unit is automatically in Formation-Broken. Morale-Broken units have no formation, they are a mob trying to run away, thus they have their full movement allowance for rout movement. When rallied they get rebuild their formation with any facing the owner player chooses. Think of it as an officer grabbing the colors and saying 'fall in on me!' and the mob begins to coalesce around the colors, he would naturally be facing the enemy.
Q. Can the AC reform or rally a unit that has moved on the current turn?
A. Yes, the AC can reform or rally a unit that has moved or will move in a subsequent activation. This ability is very important in sustaining attacks...
Q. Are morale broken units treated as formation broken for melee combat?
A. Morale Broken has no formation, the Morale of 1 is a huge disadvantage as the morale differential will usually give the attacker a +5 to +7, and any result is adverse result is an elimination. Adding in Formation Broken is piling on too high.
Q. Can morale broken units fire.
A. Morale Broken can't do anything except rally and do rout movement in that phase.
Q. Leaders need to _start_ an activation with units to influence formation and morale change, they're unable then to move. It's tough to be in the right spot at the right time
A. Correct, the Leader gets to do 1 thing, so you must try and anticipate where he is needed, move there in an activation, then rally/reform the next. Again continuation is import to make a sudden difference here.
Q. At the end of a close combat, several things happen: What order are these done in? If the leader check comes first, then that will affect any unit stacked with Cromwell.
A. #1 Both sides check for leader casualties; #2 Both sides take a formation hit; #3 The winner checks for pursuit. Yes!
Q. Am I right in thinking that a wing in a Make Ready order with a wing commander that does not and will not move in this activation, may reform all units adjacent to him that have not and will not move in this activation? I want to be sure he's not limited to only one unit like the AC.
A. The Make Ready order allows reform actions by any/all units adjacent to or stacked with the commander, Receive Charge allows Rally actions by any/all units adjacent to or stacked with the WC. So yes it is different than Army Commander. However, if this is done the Wing Commander may not move (as he is busy reforming/rallying the troops)
Q. 6.2.2 Special movement. Do the two moves (180 degrees and Back Step have to be used together as in the illustration on page 8)? Follow on question. If the answer above is no can a HI/LI unit use its full movement allowance to back step (i.e a HI unit back up 2 hexes and an LI three?) Follow on question. Can backstep be used in a withdrawal reaction move?
A. 6.2.2 No the two do not have to be done together, we merely for space illustrated both with one graphic. Follow On, question - Yes, you can back step up to you full Movement Allowance. And yes it can be used as a reaction withdrawal
Q. [8.2] Does a LI/Cav stack with a combined movement allowance of 6 use this when judging eligibility to do a reaction withdraw? If no, can the cavalry withdraw leaving the LI to face a cavalry charge alone?
A. Cavalry / Light Infantry Stacking - The Combined Movement Allowance is 6, and is used for calculating reaction (This formation was defensive in nature and was meant to receive a charge with the augmented firepower)
Q. Can a unit that has failed an intercept roll (enemy 4 hexes distance) then withdraw when the enemy is two hexes distant?
A. Yes, a cavalry unit that fails an intercept attempt, though barred from another intercept attempt that activation, is eligible for reaction movement/fire on subsequent reaction triggers.
Q. Reaction Fire is without limit (9.7.1), so Inactive units may fire each trigger. Thus, if I have a solid line of 4 Musketeers, each can potentially get multiple shots over the course of an activation as different enemy units move next to the line to engage it, correct?
A. Correct, the effect is quite intentional, it is part of not having ZOC rules
Q. If a Army Commander is stacked with a unit which is part of a wing that has charge orders. When the wing activates does the AC ability to perform rally/reform override the requirement for the unit to move one hex closer to the enemy i.e. can it stay in place and use the AC to reform/rally instead?
A. 1. Yes, The AC overrides the order restrictions.
Q. When a unit sets up in hedged road hex (e.g. as is the case in 1st Newbury) do they have to take a formation hit?
A. No, it is assumed that they arrived and reformed prior to the onset of play.
Q. A WC can be stuck in a charge command. On his first move, the WC moves to the rear in such a way as to put his wing out of command. This effectively negates the charge command, the wing retreats to get back into command. I simply state that you cannot do that. I don't know how I'd write a rule to disallow it.
A. On the "running away" technique, I would also most vociferously disallow it, but just how to construct a rule. One approach may be what I do by default, but haven't forced in the rules is that a WC must always be stacked with a unit of his wing, thus the unit based restrictions still apply...