Your Account | Login | Shopping Cart (0) | Checkout  
 
  Search:

Merchant Services
WellingtonHow2

How to Play Wellington

Preface By WELLINGTON'S Game Developer (Fred Schachter)

Mark McLaughlin (Wellington's Designer), Mark Simonich (Graphics) and I mused how best to convey a WELLINGTON game playing experience before this title's release by GMT. Such a document existed in the draft of the "How to Play WELLINGTON " Tutorial!

The current manuscript is presented here. Alas, it cannot include the illustrations which will appear in the published version, but readers may consult the copy of the WELLINGTON map posted to GMT's website to follow the action this Tutorial describes.

We hope this whets your appetite for this forthcoming GMT game. Enjoy!

Introduction

This tutorial is designed to help teach you how to play Wellington. It is not necessarily designed to teach you how to play the game well, but is instead intended to familiarize you with the components and systems of the game and how they work together. This is a critical objective. For it is one thing to teach a game's mechanics and frequently another matter to show how those mechanics apply in game situations. Subheadings will note when a rules concept is being introduced.

The Rules booklet includes examples and explanations of basic straightforward movements of formations upon the map, Battles, Sieges, card play etc. In many instances a Player will simply play a Card to do what the Card says (playing an "Event"), or use the point value on the Card to build or move pieces. Not all moves are as complicated or as full as the "point - counterpoint" style this Tutorial employs to demonstrate Wellington gameplay. This Tutorial, however, has been intentionally written to explain what happens when a lot of things come together at once, as they so often do during this highly interactive game. You can just read through this tutorial if you wish, but when you get out the game and follow along with the rules (which you should read first: reference to particular rules are by their parenthesized rules case numbers), map, pieces, cards (referenced by their I.D. number within this narrative) and even dice rolls, you will achieve a much better comprehension of how this game plays.

The Map, Its Duchies and Who Controls Them

The situation as shown in Illustration One depicts the 1812 initial deployment in the central portion of the map between the "star"-shaped Fortress Duchy of Ciudad Rodrigo and the square-shaped Capital Duchy of Madrid. These and all other Duchies shown in the illustration are Occupied Duchies. They are marked with a blue dot inside the yellow circle, square or star that marks their locations. As defined in the Glossary (20.0) these are controlled by the French Armee Du Nord (French blue Power).

Setup: Leaders and Units

The three Leaders of Armee Du Nord (which means Army of the North) are deployed in Madrid, Avila and Valladolid. Marmont (2-6) starts in Valladolid with a cavalry Unit, Clausel (2-4) begins in Avila with a cavalry Unit and Joseph (1-4) is in Madrid with an infantry. Other Armee Du Nord cavalry Units are at Leon and Zamora. Armee Du Nord infantry Units are at all of the other Duchies shown (except for the Fortress Duchy of Ciudad Rodrigo). These Duchies are Saldana, Salamanca (a Key Duchy), Lerma, Toledo, Talavera de la Reina and Almaraz.

Note that an infantry is one Unit/Soldier and a cavalry depicts two Units/Soldiers. Thus a cavalry is worth the same as two infantry, and vice versa.

Although there are no French Armee Du Nord Units at Ciudad Rodrigo, the Fortress is in French control. It is therefore marked with a blue dot. It will remain in French Armee Du Nord control until it becomes marked with another Power's Flag marker.

This is exactly what the British and Spanish (red and yellow) Powers wish to do. They start with the British Leader Beresford (2-6) in Lisbon with a cavalry. Their Leader Wellington (5-9), for whom the game is named, and the Spanish Leader De Espana (1-4) are at the Fortress Duchy of Ciudad Rodrigo. As they do not control the Duchy, they have it under Siege (12). De Espana has only a single infantry Unit with him. Wellington (5-9) has an artillery and an infantry Unit.

Note that an artillery depicts four Units/Soldiers. Thus an artillery is worth the same as four infantry, or the same as two cavalry, or the same as two infantry and one cavalry. Any of those combinations make FOUR Units/Soldiers, the same as an artillery.

This is only a portion of the map. The rest of the map, when the game commences, contains numerous Units and Leaders of these three Powers and the fourth Power in the Game, the French Armee du Sud (which means Army of the South) or green Power. We will concentrate on this part of the map for our tutorial. It would be helpful if you would place the Leaders and Units as shown in ILLUSTRATION I. Also place a British cavalry unit in the England/Portsmouth box.

Headquarters, Armies and Army Groups

After placing pieces on the map, you should place the Units that begin in the same Duchy with Leaders on their respective Headquarters Cards - the large colored Cards with the names of the Leaders on them.

You should take the cavalry Units that begin with Marmont and Clausel from the map and place them in those Leaders' respective spaces on the blue Armee Du Nord Headquarters Card. Also take the infantry Unit that begins with Joseph in Madrid and place it on his space of the Headquarters Card.

Each of these Leaders is considered an ARMY. An Army is a Leader either alone or with his Units/Soldiers. Each Leader has a Command Rating (Marmont is a 6, Joseph is a 4, etc.) that shows how many UNITS/SOLDIERS he can lead in HIS Army. (This is UNITS or SOLDIERS, not pieces; thus the cavalry with Marmont counts as TWO of the six Units he can lead).

Now take the British cavalry that began with Beresford in Lisbon and place it on Beresford's space on the red British Headquarters Card. Then take the British artillery and British infantry that begin with Wellington and place them on the Wellington space of the British Headquarters Card. Take the one infantry that begins with De Espana and place it on his space on the yellow Spanish Headquarters Card.

Now remove De Espana himself from the map and place him on the British Headquarters Card right next to where you put the British artillery and infantry. This shows that De Espana is with Wellington. When two or more friendly Leaders of different Powers and their Units occupy the same Duchy, or two or more Leaders of the same Power, they may form an Army Group (9.6). Only the Commander of the Army Group remains on the map. Wellington is the Commander of this Army Group for many reasons: i.e. he is the better Leader, as shown by his Battle Rating of 5 and his Command Rating of 9 compared to De Espana's 1 and 4. He also has more troops and the British go first in the order of play.

Home Cards

Each of the Four Powers begins the game with a hand of cards. Home cards are distributed first. .

Take the 12 French Home cards. These are blue, but are shared by both the blue and green Powers. Each of the French Powers will receive two blue Home cards. These are normally dealt at random, face down, and only the Power to whom they are dealt can see them, but for purposes of this tutorial, all is known. Deal out the cards as follows:

To Armee du Nord (blue Power): French Home Cards 101: "German Conscripts" (5CP +) and 105: "Afrancesados" (5CP + ) .

To Armee du Sud (green Power): French Home cards 103: "Naval Support" (6CP - R +) and 109: "Duke of Damnation" (6CP +).

Now take the 6 Spanish Home cards. These are yellow. The Spanish Player receives two of these dealt at random. For our purpose give them the following two cards:

Spanish Home cards 89: "The Church" (5CP +) and 90: "The Mob" (5CP - R +)

Now take the 6 British Home cards. These are red. The British receive THREE (yes, THREE, not TWO like everybody else). For our purpose give them the following three cards: British Home cards 93: "Admiralty/Hearts of Oak" (6CP +), 96: "Bloody Bagpipes" (4CP - B +) and 98: "The Light Division" (5CP +)

Set these three decks of Home cards aside, face down, as appropriate in the Reserve Card boxes printed on the map.

Other Cards

There are 86 other cards in the game. These are NOT Home cards. EACH of the Four Powers will get SIX of these. These cards are, again, normally dealt at random, face down, so that only the owning Power can see and read them, but for our demonstration give the Powers the following cards:

To Armee Du Nord (blue Power) Cards 7: Loot & Pillage (5CP - R), 21: "Really Big Guns" (5CP - B), 33: "Leader Disgraced" (2CP - R), 57: "House of Rothschild" (5CP), 70: "Massed Grenadiers" (2CP - B) and 71: "Sappers & Pioneers" (3CP - B)

To Armee Du Sud (green Power) Cards 26: "Must Play" - "Italian Adventure", 38: "Must Play" - "The Emperor Beckons", 39: "Royalist Dissent" (3CP), 52: "Leader Wounded" (4CP - R), 59: "Bravest of the Brave" (2CP - R) and 78: "Reversal of Fortune" (6CP - R)

To the Spanish (yellow Power) Cards 8: Bombardment (4CP - R), 9: "Passes Blocked" (2CP - R), 20: "La Patrie en Danger" (2CP), 37: "Hasty Fortress (4CP), 40: "Call for Reinforcements" (5CP - B) and 46: "Must Play" - "Corruption & Sabotage"

To the British (red Power) Cards 6: "Must Play" - "Viceroys Overthrown", 10: "Bridges Washed Away" (2CP - R), 17: "Portuguese Unrest" (5CP), 29:"Skirmishers Front!" (2CP - B), 83:"A Change in Plans" (6CP) and 84:"Beaten and Dispersed" (5CP - R)

All cards constituting each Power's Hand should be placed beside their respective Headquarters Cards. For those familiar with Wellington's relative, GMT's The Napoleonic Wars, you will note the ratio of non-regular cards within the deck, particularly "R" (Response) cards is higher… and, as you'll read, this influences the pace and style of play. Again, these cards are normally face down so that only the owning Player can see them (we will have them face up for ease of this illustration).

What do the Cards Mean?

Every card has a name and a card number (1 through 110)

Most cards contain a large number (2, 3, 4, 5, 6 or 8). This is the COMMAND POINT or CP rating of the card. Command Points are what you use to build and move Leaders and Units, and to place or remove Flags that mark control of a Duchy.

All of the cards contain text describing an Event.

A card may be played EITHER for its CP value OR for its Event, NOT BOTH.

Thus, for example, British Home card 98, "The Light Division", may be played EITHER as the Event (you get to do what it says) OR as 5 CP.

SOME cards contain one or more SYMBOLS. These include a Plus (+) or a large letter (R for Reaction or B for Battle). Others have a MUST PLAY notation in large print: More on these later.

Number of Players and Who Sees The Cards?

In a four-player Wellington game, there is one player for each of the four Powers, so each player will have only a single hand of cards. In the three player game, one player may be both French Powers (blue and green) or both

Allied Powers (red and yellow). In a two-player game one player IS both French Powers, and the other IS both Allied Powers.

A player who controls TWO Powers may examine each of their hands of cards, BUT MUST keep those cards separate - Powers do NOT physically share cards... each hand must be kept separate from another.

Mulligans

As is explained in the rules, a player may decide their Power does not like the hand dealt it. In that case, the player may discard the hand dealt (some restrictions apply, see Rule 2.6). There is a penalty, however, as the player will then draw one Card FEWER than the number of cards discarded and may not discard any "Must Play" Card. As the players believe their Powers each have a fairly good hand in this example, no Mulligans are called.

Resources

We are almost ready to start the game - all we need to do is to give each of the four Powers their starting RESOURCE. Give one Resource marker each to the British, Spanish and Armee du Sud (green) Power, and TWO Resources to the Armee du Nord (blue) Power. Place these Resources on their respective Headquarters Cards.

Spanish Key Control Markers

As Wellington is a game about the conquest or liberation of Spain, Player Aid Spanish Key Control Markers are provided to assist the Powers keeping quick and easy track of which Spanish Keys they each control. Placement and exchange of these is not necessary for this tutorial. If Markers are placed, they are deployed as follows (Duchies shown in italics are Fortresses):

British Headquarters Card: None - but they control their Home Key Duchies of Gibraltar, Elvas, Lisbon, Almeira, and Porto (5) Spanish Headquarters Card: Valencia, Cartagena, Cadiz, and Oviedo (4) Armee du Sud Headquarters Card: Barcelona, Grenada, Cordoba, Sevilla, and Badajoz (5) with Home Duchies Toulouse and Perpignan (7) Armee du Nord Headquarters Card: Zaragoza, San Sebastian, Burgos, Madrid, Salamanca, and Cuidad Rodrigo (6) with Home Duchies of Bordeaux and Bayonne (8)

This is the set-up for the entire game. As previously noted, we'll only focus upon a portion of the overall map… but as you can read above, the French begin 1812 with a respectable lead insofar as Key Duchy control is concerned.

You can already see how useful these Headquarters Cards can be for keeping track of what you to have to play with!

Impulses, Rounds and Turns

There is only a maximum of three TURNS in Wellington. Each turn is a year (1812, 1813, 1814). Each turn, however, is composed of many ROUNDS of play, and each ROUND has at least four individual plays or IMPULSES, one for EACH of the FOUR powers.

A Round normally proceeds in the Order of Play as shown on the map: A British Impulse, followed by an Armee du Sud (green) Impulse, then a Spanish Impulse and finally an Armee du Nord (blue) Impulse. After that, the sequence starts again with a British Impulse, then a green Impulse etc. (This order can be interrupted by what is called a "Pre-empt," as is explained in rule 4.22). These Rounds and Impulses will continue in a cycle until only one of the four Powers has a card or cards left. At that point, that Power takes an Impulse and the TURN ends.

Now let us get on with playing the First Impulse of 1812.

The First Impulse

The British have the First Impulse.

A Power must begin an Impulse by playing a card (if it has any) or spending an available Resource (if the player wishes to).

The British Power plays Home card 98 -"The Light Division". The player plays it for the Event and attaches it to Wellington by placing the card or "Light Division" reminder counter on the Headquarters Card right on or below the Wellington Leader space to indicate that the Light Division (and all its benefits) is with Wellington.

The Light Division will add one die to every Battle and Siege Wellington resolves, and as Wellington decides to Siege the Fortress of Ciudad Rodrigo, this will come in handy.

Siege Declaration

The British have played the "Light Division" card as an Event, but this does not conclude their Impulse. As Wellington has begun the Impulse on Ciudad Rodrigo and as there are no opposing Units in the Duchy, he will commence a Siege resolution. (Incidentally, resolution of the Siege could have been done before any card play, or at any time during the British Impulse, but why should the British not enjoy the "Light Division's" benefit for the coming engagement?).

Only a single ARMY, not an entire Army Group, may conduct a Siege. The British announce that Wellington and the British will thus lay Siege. The Spanish Army in the Army Group will not be involved.

Battle and Response Cards in Siege

No additional card play or Command Point expenditure is required to begin the Siege. Powers directly involved may play Battle cards (those marked with a B) and any Power MAY play Response cards (those marked with an R) that can be applied.

If no one plays any cards, the resolution of the Siege would be a simple matter, as described in the Rule booklet. As Wellington is a very INTERACTIVE game, however, and cards tend to fly as Powers "up the ante" and escalate what might otherwise be a simple straight forward little action into an epic clash.

The British are attacking and as such must declare first if they are playing any Battle card(s). They decline to do so. The French Armee Du Nord player may now declare a Battle card, as it is blue's Fortress that is being attacked. The Armee Du Nord player decides to make the job harder for the British by doing so - through playing Card 71 - "Sappers and Pioneers". This Event will add to the French defense (a very good thing - as we shall see in the ensuing resolution).

French Armee Du Sud (green) may NOT play a Battle card: it is not a green Fortress and Sud has no Units present. It could, however, play a Response card (the ones marked with a big R) if desired, as no green Unit needs to be present to do so. Armee du Sud decides to be generous and help out their partner and plays Card 52 "Leader Wounded" - on the British Leader, Wellington.

As indicated by the card, the French roll a die to see how severe the wound is - unfortunately (for the French cause) only a "one" is rolled, indicating Wellington will lose but a single Battle die in the upcoming conflict.

The Spanish may not play a Battle card as the Spanish Army is not involved in the Siege. The Spanish may play a Response card, but at this point in time decline to do so, believing the British have a good chance of success on their own.

Siege Resolution (Dice) and Unit "Making Change"

Now we are ready to resolve the Siege. This is done with dice. Note that while there are sufficient dice to play the game included in Wellington'sbox, players may prefer to collect a couple of dozen dice or more from other games or sources, both for ease of play and record keeping, and for the wargaming "rush" or "feel" of rolling "buckets of dice."

The British are the Besiegers (attackers). They receive the following number of Battle dice:

-Five dice for Wellington (one for each of point of his Battle Rating, which is a 5) -Five MORE dice for the UNITS with Wellington (the infantry counts as one Unit, the artillery counts as FOUR) -One MORE die just for being British (the National Bonus)

To this BASIC total of ELEVEN (11) dice we add or subtract based on the BATTLE and RESPONSE Cards played. Thus: -ADD One for the "Light Division" attached to Wellington and -THEN Subtract One for the "Lose one Battle Die" result on the "Leader Wounded" card played on Wellington by the French green Power.

We have a net addition of ZERO (+ 1 - 1) to the basic 11, so we find the British are left with a total of 11 dice.

The British roll the 11 dice (either all at once or in groups, depending on personal preference and dice available). In a Siege the besieger (attacker) counts ONLY the "SIXES" (6s) rolled, ignoring all other numbers.

The British roll only two 6s. Thus they score two hits. The Fortress has a defense of THREE (as marked by the yellow boxed number near it; all Fortresses printed on the map have a defense of three, except for Gibraltar, which is a 5 as marked by its nearby number).

As the quantity of hits (two 6s) does not equal or exceed the defense rating of three, the Fortress does not fall immediately….but as at least one hit was scored the British still hope the Siege will continue, .

Now the French blue Power rolls dice. The Fortress has a defense of three - so the French roll three dice. (National bonuses do not apply to defending a Fortress.)

As the besieged (defender) the French need FIVES and SIXES (5s and 6s) to score hits. The French roll ONE 5 for a disruption result on a single British Unit..

Normally, as the British have scored MORE hits (two hits to the French one), the Siege would continue with another Round of dice rolling, with the British already having two hits of the three needed to take the Fortress. (Thus requiring only a single six in their next dice roll to reach the total of three needed to equal the defense of the Fortress). The French "Sappers and Pioneers" card, however, allows the French Siege defense to add a "6" in the first round of a Siege. This gives the French a second hit, which matches the number of hits the British have rolled.

As the British did not roll MORE hits than the defending French did, their assault is repulsed. In addition, they will lose ONE UNIT for each Six (6) the French have rolled. So the British lose one infantry Unit from Wellington's Army, "make change," by trading in the artillery (worth four Units) for a cavalry (worth two) and two infantry (worth two). They then flip one of those infantry Unit over to its "disrupted" side due to the French 5 Siege defense die roll. Why do this when the Siege attempt has apparently failed?

ALL IS NOT LOST!

Response cards may be played at ANY time, so the Spanish Power selflessly comes to the aid of their British ally by throwing down a Response card - "Bombardment" (Card 8). This allows the Besieger to add three dice to either the first or second Round of Siege and conduct another round of Siege regardless of the results of the preceding round.

The British could add those three dice and roll them now, hoping to get that magical third SIX (6) to take the Fortress down, but they decide not to press their luck. The British player instead decides to conduct a SECOND round of Siege and add the three dice to that round.

(This does give the French another round of rolling dice to try to inflict losses on the British, but the British are willing to take this trade-off.)

Second Round of Siege

The Fortress of Ciudad Rodrigo has two hits on it already (this can be marked with a die or one of the Siege Hit play aid counters provided with Wellington if the players wish).

The British collect their dice. They will now roll 12 dice

This includes the FIVE (5) for Wellington's Battle Rating, THREE for undisrupted Units (they still have a cavalry and an infantry left available, which count as three Units), ONE for their National Bonus of being British, another ONE for the "Light Division" bonus and THREE more for the "Bombardment" Card the Spanish played. From this total of 13 (5 + 3 + 1 +1 + 3), however, they must still lose ONE for the effect of the "Leader Wounded" Card the French played earlier.

The British roll quite a lot of sixes (6). All they needed, however, was one more to make that third cumulative hit needed in this Impulse to take the Fortress.

The French, although the Fortress has fallen, will still get a parting shot. They roll the three dice for the Fortress defense (it is undiminished by the hits of the first Round) and get one five (5) and one six (6). The six forces the British to lose another Unit. The surviving cavalry and infantry are placed on the Wellington space of the British Headquarters Card. The five die roll result is ignored as the Fortress has fallen and the disrupted infantry from the first Round of Siege is flipped back to its undisrupted side. A costly victory indeed!

Flag and Loot ("Sack and Pillage")

Whenever a Fortress is captured by Siege the victor places one of their Power's Flag markers on the Duchy. This is done for no additional CP cost.

Normally, the victor places their OWN Flag on the Duchy. As the British are attempting to liberate Spanish territory (an Occupied Duchy), however, they may CHOOSE to place a Spanish flag there instead, giving control to the Spanish. The British do this in recognition of the assistance received from their Spanish ally (who played the "Bombardment" Card, without which the Siege would have been repulsed). Additionally, flagging Ciudad Rodrigo Spanish will permit the Spanish Player the option of building new Units in the Fortress to reinforce De Espana's paltry one Soldier Army.

Whenever a Fortress falls by Siege, the victor also has a chance to obtain "Loot" (12.5). One die is rolled. To that die result one is added (as the British took Ciudad Rodrigo on the second round of Siege, one less round than the strength value defending the Fortress). If the result is a six (6) or more, the British will gain a Resource. A FIVE (5) is rolled, to which that one is added making a total of SIX (6), thus earning a Resource (which is placed on the British Headquarters Card).

Keep Going

If a besieger fails to take a Fortress, or needs all three Rounds (five in the case of Gibraltar) to take it without rolling excess 6 results, that Army must stop in the Duchy and move no further. If a besieger takes it in FEWER rounds than its defense, as is the case here, the Army may continue to move via an Overrun result.

The "Light Division" Card played by the British allows Wellington "One Free CP" to move.

It costs One CP (Command Point) to move ONE Army (or one infantry or one cavalry if not part of an Army… remember, an artillery may not move without a Leader to command it) from one Duchy to an adjacent one.

The British decide to use that One CP to move Wellington's Army from Ciudad Rodrigo to Almaraz, the Duchy to the immediate lower right of the Fortress.

As it takes one CP to move EACH Army in an Army Group, the British cannot take the Spanish Army of De Espana with them. Take the De Espana Leader from the Wellington box on the Headquarters Card and place it on Ciudad Rodrigo. Move Wellington to Almaraz. The British are going to try to "scoop up" (i.e. kill) some of the vulnerable individual French garrisons scattered along the southern route to Madrid.

Evasion

The French Armee du Nord Power has a single infantry Unit in Almaraz. It has very little chance of stopping the British Army alone. The French Power decides to try to evade (in other words, retreat, withdraw, run away before a Battle).

TWO dice are rolled. The French need a modified total of NINE or better to get away. They will be adding ONE to the dice because the Duchy to which the French infantry Unit is trying to run (Talavera de la Reina) is FRIENDLY. The French Power rolls a five and a three (5 and 3), for a total of eight (8), but by adding that one bonus for evading to a Friendly Duchy, they succeed in getting away. Move the French infantry Unit from Almaraz to Talavera de la Reina. The French may (and should) combine these two infantry Units into a cavalry Unit.

The British are unhappy, as the French escaped and they did not get the cheap and easy victory expected (it could easily have been what is called a "Flag Overrun" - as later described). The British, however, are not done yet.

Another Card?

A Power is NORMALLY limited to playing a SINGLE Card on its Impulse. A Power MAY Play TWO cards, however, if EITHER the FIRST or the SECOND is a Plus (+) card. "The Light Division" is such a Plus card.

The British elect to play a second card - card 17 "Portuguese Unrest". The British play it for the FIVE CP value, not for the event. (The Event is very pro-French anyway; as it hamstrings the British ability to build new Units for CP's in any Home Duchies but Gibraltar or Portsmouth.)

CP Expenditure: Unit and Army Movement, Picking Up and Combining Forces (and being aware of potential Forced March Attrition)

The British player decides, after the bloody victory of the Siege of Ciudad Rodrigo, that Wellington needs some more troops, and that he should continue trying to defeat the French in detail (i.e. while they are divided) before the French can move.

The British player decides to leave the Leader Beresford in Lisbon, but have the cavalry in Beresford's Army move to join Wellington. That cavalry Unit is removed from the British Headquarters Card, placed in Lisbon, and then moved to Fuentes d'Onoro for one CP (one CP for one cavalry or infantry piece/Soldier/Unit moving one Duchy) and then to Ciudad Rodrigo for another (a total of two CP so far).

The British player could expend a CP to place a Flag on Almaraz and make it Friendly (7.1), but chooses instead to move Wellington BACK to Ciudad Rodrigo (one CP for one Army to move one Duchy), "pick up" the cavalry that came out of Lisbon (no extra charge for doing so - just put it on Wellington's section of the Headquarters Card) and then take a fourth CP to move Wellington's Army to attack the French infantry Unit in Salamanca.

Should the player not wish to trust to memory, a March Counter of Two is placed with Wellington's Army in Ciudad Rodrigo. Coincidentally, both the Army and cavalry out of Lisbon moved two Duchies thus far during the British Impulse. Keeping track of how many Duchies a Formation moves during an impulse is important; for upon entering a fifth Duchy that Formation suffers "Forced March Attrition" (9.42).

A Spanish Response to Set the Stage for the Allied Capture of Salamanca

Before Wellington makes the move into Salamanca, the Spanish Power cries "wait" and plays a Response card. . That card is "The Mob" - Spanish Home card 90.

This card's Event calls for the immediate placement of a Spanish (yellow) cavalry piece in an UNFORTIFIED Duchy in Spain occupied or controlled by the French. The Spanish place that cavalry in Valladolid. It immediately attacks Marmont and the French cavalry Unit there. By doing this, the Spanish Player, despite the odds, hopes to pin Marmont's Army in place…for unless the French win an Overrun Battle, Marmont will be unable to intercept for the balance of the Impulse.

A Remarkable Two Round Battle

The Spanish are the attacker. Marmont attempts to evade into Salamanca (and incidentally confront Wellington, his original intent) but rolls a 3 and a 2: 5, +2 for Marmont, +1 for a friendly Duchy for a total of 8, and a failed evasion. A "Battle or failed Intercept" marker is placed atop Marmont. The Spanish must now announce if they will add any Battle card(s) to the fight. They decline. The French also decline: for the coming Battle certainly seems to favor them.

The Spanish have a cavalry piece. It counts as TWO Units (so the Spanish get two dice). The Spanish National Bonus is ZERO. "The Mob" card, however, gives the Spanish "two extra Battle dice." This gives the Spanish a total of FOUR dice.

The French have Marmont's Army. That is two dice for the cavalry and two dice for Marmont. The French National Bonus, however, is TWO - so they have a total of SIX dice (2 +2 +2 = 6).

In a Battle as with Siege defense, every five and six (5 and 6) rolled is a casualty or "hit." Every six (6) rolled is a kill and every five (5) is a disruption.

The Spanish roll their four dice. They roll a single five (5).

The French roll their six dice. They roll a single six (6) and utter a lament to the gods of wargaming dice. For this ties both sides at one hit each and forces a second Battle Round. The Spanish remove their cavalry Unit and replace it with one infantry. The French break their cavalry Unit into two infantry and flip one infantry to its "disrupted" side.

For the second Round, the Spanish no longer enjoy the benefit of "The Mob" card's two dice bonus. (Unless a card specifically states its Battle/Siege effect is for more than one Round, it is good for only one Round.) The Spanish player gets but a single die for their surviving infantry. It rolls a six (6)!

The French, reduced by one disrupted infantry, now roll FIVE dice and fail to get a single hit!!! We'll leave to the reader's imagination what the Armee du Nord player says to that!

The Spanish rolled more "hits" than the French: two to one to win a surprise victory Marmont loses one infantry, it makes no difference which one for the disrupt result has no lingering effect now that the Battle is concluded. He retreats to Salamanca. This causes the French infantry originally in the Duchy to be placed in Marmont's section of the Armee du Nord Headquarters Card without a "Battle or failed Intercept" marker atop it.

The Battle ends with a "Battle or failed Intercept" marker placed atop the surviving Spanish infantry in Valladolid. Marmont and his one infantry already have "Battle or failed Intercept" markers with them.

"The Mob" Card also declares that if the Spanish are victorious they may place a Flag on the Duchy and they do so.

Interception & Response

Wellington now enters Salamanca to confront Marmont and his two infantry. Now, thinks the Armee du Nord player, this seems a fine opportunity to bring more French strength to bear: Clausel's Army in Avila.

The French grab two dice: as with evasion, they will need to roll a modified nine (9) or higher to be successful. To this roll will be added ONE as Salamanca is Friendly and another TWO (the Battle Rating of Clausel), but will be subtracting ONE (1) because Clausel, from Avila, is crossing a mountain pass (the brown dotted line) to reach Salamanca. Thus the French will be adding a net of TWO (2) to this roll. A five and a two (5, 2) results for a total of seven (7), to which is added the modifier of TWO for a net result of nine - Clausel's interception is successful.

--or so the French think.

The Spanish Power once again comes to the rescue of their British Ally and again plays a Response card - "Passes Blocked" (card 9). The "Passes Blocked" Marker from the counter mix is placed on the pass between Avila and Salamanca, thus stopping Clausel from intercept moving to join Marmont.

Evasion & Rivers & Response

As the interception has thus been stymied and Marmont alone is not much of a match for Wellington and the larger British Army, the French consider evacuating Salamanca by evading, but to where? Lumbrales by the Portuguese border leaves the French even more isolated from their main forces. The Army cannot go to Avila (as the pass is blocked), nor can it cross the river to Zamora (as interception and evasion across rivers is not allowed, or at least not without the help of the French "Pontoon Train" Home card 100-which neither French Power has) and Valladolid is now Spanish Mob-occupied.

Trapped And Forced To Fight

With only unattractive Lumbrales to evade to and no hope of help from Clausel's Army, the French believe they've little option but to fight for Salamanca.

It is not a pretty prospect for Marmont's Army.

All that can save them now is either luck or great cards or both. Perhaps the French can duplicate the Spanish Mob's Valladolid feat?

The British, however, are the attacker. They want to minimize the chances of a French victory and must play Battle cards before their opponent has to do so. The British have no idea what kind of cards the French may have, and rather than risk losing this rather fine (and expensive, in terms of cards used) opportunity to destroy Marmont, decide to make it more of a sure thing. The British play a Battle card -- "Bloody Bagpipes" - British Home card 96. This gives them many advantages in the coming combat (where they already have a big advantage). The French decide against playing any cards. It would probably be just "throwing good money after bad" as the old saying goes.

The British collect dice for the Battle. They have five Units (2 cavalry - which the British could trade in for an artillery, but figure they will need change for Battle losses anyway - and one infantry. Remember, the cavalry are worth TWO Units each.) This is five dice.

To this they add the five for Wellington's Battle Rating, as well as the National Bonus (one more), the Light Division bonus (another one) and the two extra dice for "Bloody Bagpipes."

This is a total of fourteen (5 + 5 + 1 + 1 + 2 = 14), but again the British must take away one for the "Leader Wounded" card result's effect as this is STILL the British Impulse. The British thus have 13 dice.

Against this the French have only seven dice. Two for the two infantry, two for Marmont's Battle Rating, two for the French National Bonus and one more for the terrain. (The line connecting Ciudad Rodrigo with Salamanca is an olive colored or "rough" Line of March, and as Salamanca is still in French control, the French get the Battle advantage of that terrain).

The British roll their 13 dice. They get one six and three fives: that is a total of four casualties/hits, one of which is a kill and the other three (the fives) are disrupts.

The French roll their 7 dice. They also get one six but only two fives. Unfortunately for Marmont, the "Bloody Bagpipes" card allows the British to IGNORE two disrupts - thus negating those two fives.

The final result is four hits for the British, one for the French.

The British take their one loss, and remove the single infantry Unit from Wellington's Army.

Rout, Flag Overrun, Loot and a Convoy

It is more than just a British victory: it is a Rout. For a Rout to occur the victor has to inflict THREE MORE hits (5s and 6s combined) than taken. This has occurred. In a Rout, all disruption results inflicted on the loser become kills. There are now FOUR kills on the French, but they have only two Units and a Leader to lose. All three are eliminated and returned to the counter mix (they can be rebuilt and returned to play with French expenditure of the necessary CPs). As the French have taken at least one more loss than they can meet, the Rout becomes a Flag Overrun.

In a Flag Overrun the victor gets to place a Flag free of charge in the Duchy where the victory occurred. The British, this time conscious THEY will need some victory points of their own, flag Key Duchy Salamanca British.

The British do have one last thing to do regarding the Battle of Salamanca. When an Army is eliminated or routed the victor rolls for Loot. One is added to the die result for each enemy Unit and Leader eliminated (three total in this case). The "Bloody Bagpipes" card, however, lets the British add ANOTHER three (for Scottish thoroughness). If the modified total is eight or more (or a natural six is rolled) the victor receives a Resource as Loot, if the roll is 12 or greater, the victor receives TWO Loot. The British roll a "1" on their die, which even with the addition of the six modifier is just not quite enough to gain them another bit of Loot. The old gamer adage "I win on anything but a one" comes through again!

The French sigh with relief: at least SOMETHING went wrong for the British.

The Victor can keep moving in an Overrun, if that Power has any more CPs available to pay for movement. The British could again move Wellington's Army with the fifth and final CP of the "Portuguese Unrest" card, but instead choose to execute a Convoy (14.2).

The cavalry Unit in Portsmouth is broken down into two infantry. One of these infantry is then Convoyed, at a cost of one CP, to the Spanish Fortress of Valencia (not shown in this booklet's illustrations, please consult Wellington's map). By doing this, the British player is not only reinforcing Blake's Spanish Army defending one of the four Key Duchies still held by Spain, but this makes possible British play of Battle card 29: "Skirmishers Front!" to aid the Spanish should Suchet's French Army assault them.

The Next Power's Impulse

As the British Impulse is concluded, the "Leader Wounded" card that hurt the British is now discarded. The "Iron Duke" is back to his full fettle.

With the British Impulse FINALLY concluded, the NEXT Power takes its Impulse. Next to go is the French Armee du Sud (green).

A Must Play Card

The French green Power could take action elsewhere on the game board (in areas not shown in the Illustration) but decides green's Armee du Nord partner needs some relief. "Italian Adventure" -- card 36 is played, a "Must Play" card.

Note that the green player does not have to play the "Must Play" card NOW - this could be done during any Armee du Sud Impulse, but this one will hurt the British a little AND buy the blue French Power some time. First, the British must remove two Units. The British decide to remove the cavalry (worth two Units) that begins the game in Palma (not shown). Then the British place the "Italian Adventure" card or counter in front of them as a reminder that during their NEXT Impulse they MUST use that card as their play, and as a 2 CP card at that.

The card also directs the French green Power to draw a card from the deck. What's drawn is card 86 - "The Eagles Come South" (a MOST excellent card for the French), suppressing a grin, the player places it in Armee du Sud's hand WITHOUT showing it to ANY other player (not even green's blue French partner).

The French green Power COULD play a SECOND card IF that SECOND card was a PLUS card, but such play is not elected at this time (Although green has two such PLUS cards in hand: French Home cards 103 and 109).

The French Armee du Sud's Impulse is over. The Spanish Impulse is next.

Removing "The Passes Blocked Marker"

The Spanish played the "Passes Blocked" (card 9) Event to stop Clausel from marching to help Marmont. The card requires that the "Passes Blocked" marker be removed at the START of the card player's next Scheduled Impulse -

and it is now the start of the Spanish (the card player's) Impulse. Remove the marker. The Avila/Salamanca pass is no longer blocked.

The Spanish Spend a Resource and Then Play a "Must Play" Card

The Spanish Power has already used three cards to help the British and decides that rather than play another card at this time, Spain will first BUY a card. This is done through expending the sole Spanish Resource. Spending a Resource lets a Power take the top card from the deck. The Spanish draw card, 16 - "La Sortie/Siege Relief" (5CP - R). This is not shown to anyone and is placed in Spain's hand, but the Spanish player lets the other players know that this Impulse is not necessarily over yet.

When a Power expends a Resource to buy a card it MAY declare the Impulse over. As a Resource is treated as being a PLUS card play, however, one MAY ALSO play a non-Plus card - and the Spanish player does this by playing "Must Play" card 46 - "Corruption & Sabotage".

Fortunately for all the players, none have more than three Resources (the British and blue French Powers have two each and the Spanish and green French Powers one each). The penalty of a Power losing HALF its resources is consequently ignored. The Spanish then draw another card from the deck and receive card 41: "Stragglers" (3CP - R). The discard deck, with the "Corruption & Sabotage" card, is then shuffled together to reconstitute a single main deck for further play of the Turn.

Play of a "must play" card allows that Power to draw a card and play "that or another card". The Spanish choose to play "La Sortie/Siege Relief": but for its CP value of 5, not for the Event.

The Spanish Build and Flag

Card 16 is worth 5 CP. The Spanish decide to spend four of those CP to build Units. A Unit costs two CP EACH, so the Spanish can buy TWO Units. They could buy two single infantry Units and place them in two different locations, but as the British kindly flagged Ciudad Rodrigo Spanish, the Spanish decide to buy a cavalry Unit (two Units, total cost of four CP) and place it there, which is where their Leader De Espana is sitting. The cavalry is placed into De Espana's space on the Spanish Headquarters Card. That space already contains one infantry Unit.

The Spanish still have one of the five CPs from card 16 left. They decide to use it to Flag adjacent Almaraz (the Duchy that Wellington advanced into but then left to head up to fight Marmont). It costs one CP to place a Flag and a Spanish Flag is placed on Almaraz. This ends the Spanish Impulse.

Armee Du Nord (Finally) - Multiple Card Play

The French Armee du Nord (blue) Power is champing at the bit. It has been a tough round so far, but the French do not want to just sit and wait for the Allies to come at them again. Blue decides, however, that Armee du Nord's forces are too weak right now to attack - or so it seems.

First, blue plays French Home card 105 - "Afrancesados". This allows placement of a French cavalry Unit in any one unbesieged Spanish Duchy blue occupies or controls. As it can only be played as an Event as long as the French hold Madrid, the blue player decides it is probably now or never and places the cavalry in Madrid to join Joseph's Army (where there is already a French infantry Unit).

As 105 is a Plus card, the French may play a SECOND card - (as long as it is NOT ALSO a Plus card, for you can never play more than two cards as part of your Impulse play unless as a result of an Event… which is what the Spanish did with their play of the "Corruption & Sabotage" card).

Blue plays card 57 "House of Rothschild." This allows Armee du Nord to draw two cards from the deck, one of which MUST be played.

Card 23 "Humbugged" and 85 "All the Emperor's Horses" are drawn… two high CP value cards!

The "House of Rothschild" Event directs that the discard deck AND the "House of Rothschild" card itself be returned to the main deck for reshuffling. First, however, blue MUST play one of the two cards drawn (as directed by the Event). .

Blue decides to play card 85 "All the Emperor's Horses" for its 6 CP value - and NOT for its event. (If anything, the blue French Power player wants to get this card out of Armee du Nord's hand so it can not be stolen and used as an Event AGAINST the French).

The deck is AGAIN shuffled… this time without any discard cards other than "House of Rothschild", "All the Emperor's Horses" and "La Sortie/Siege Relief" since this came right on the heels of the Spanish shuffle due to their play of the "Corruption & Sabotage" card the preceding Impulse. It now seems there MIGHT just be an opportunity to make an attack to discomfit the Allies using the 6CP's just obtained.

Move, Transfer, Move, UnFlag and Attack

The French Armee du Nord (blue) Player decides to move Clausel back from Avila to Madrid (this costs ONE CP). Next, the French transfer the one infantry from Joseph's Army to Clausel, thus bringing Clausel up to a strength of three (a cavalry and an infantry). This does not cost any additional CP.

Now Joseph, with the "Afrancenados" cavalry Unit just placed in the Army, moves from Madrid to Toledo (one CP) then to Talavera de la Reina (one more CP), where Joseph picks up another cavalry Unit and places it in his Army.

The French have so far spent three CPs.

Joseph, now at maximum Command strength of four Units, moves to Almaraz, which costs another CP (Armee du Nord's fourth for card 85).

The Spanish Army under De Espana in Cuidad Rodrigo COULD try to intercept, but decides not to attempt it, waiting instead to see what the French do.

With a fifth CP, the French "Unflag" Almaraz - this removes the Spanish Flag and makes it once again a French Occupied Duchy. This is important, because for the sixth and final CP the French wish to move on and attack De Espana in Ciudad Rodrigo, which they do. Had this unflagging not taken place, the French would suffer Ambush Attrition (9.43) as they move from Almaraz to Cuidad Rodrigo.

Interception & Evasion Foiled by Cards, Battle Brought On

The French move appears bold, perhaps even foolhardy and somewhat desperate for so early in the game, but the French Armee du Nord player makes this move anyway.

The British prepare to Intercept with Wellington. With adding five to the dice for his Battle Rating, and with the rough Line of March penalty balanced out by the bonus of intercept moving to a friendly Duchy; Wellington should have little trouble coming in to the Battle to smash the incautious French. (Wellington will be adding a net five to the roll of two dice and needs only a modified total of nine to successfully intercept).

The British announce they will do so, only to have the French Armee du Nord player drop the "Humbugged" Response (card 23) down on Wellington. Instead of a Battle Rating of five, Wellington is now, at least temporarily, reduced to a Battle Rating of ONE and a Command Rating of FOUR.

This means that the British attempt to intercept is now only a plus one (Wellington's new Battle Rating of one, plus one for going to a Friendly Duchy, minus one for the Rough Line of March). The British roll a "six," which is modified to a "seven", but this is still shy of the nine result needed.

Wellington fails to Intercept! A "Battle or failed Intercept" marker is placed atop Wellington. It should be noted that play of the "Humbugged" Response card could have been made AFTER the interception dice roll was known. Worse yet for the British, Wellington will be a 1-4 Leader until the end of the next British Scheduled Impulse. Place the "Humbugged" Counter on the map near Wellington or in his section of the British Headquarters Card as a reminder of this.

The Spanish decide that De Espana's Army alone against Joseph is a bit risky, and decide to evade, letting Joseph spend himself against the Fortress (which is now Spanish-controlled).

As the Spanish announce their decision to evade, the French Armee Du Nord player drops down card 33 as a Response - "Leader Disgraced." As the card explains, it may be played on any Leader with a Rating of 1 or 2.

De Espana is a one Battle Rated Leader who tried to Evade. In addition, as De Espana is a Spanish Leader, he is "shot by his own men" and removed from the map. (He may be rebuilt during a Spanish Impulse for two CP). The Spanish infantry and cavalry in Ciudad Rodrigo are now Leaderless. This makes it much harder for them to evade. They must do so separately, as they are not part of an Army any more, and do so without the positive dice roll bonus of a Leader. The Spanish could forgo rolling dice for these evasions and remained in the Fortress Duchy since De Espana was eliminated before any evasion was resolved (10.7), however, the potential Battle situation seems so grim they'll take their chances.

The Spanish may still add one to the dice for going to a Friendly Duchy and decide to try to run back to Fuentes D'Onoro in Portugal - as it is a clear Line of March and thus does not carry the minus one penalty of the Rough Line of March to Salamanca, where Wellington sits "Humbugged."

The Spanish infantry Unit succeeds in getting away on a roll of "8" (modified to "9" by the plus one for friendly Line of March). The cavalry, however, is less fortunate.

Battle Outside the Walls -- Rout, Overrun and another Siege

Joseph and his Army of two cavalry are attacking a Spanish cavalry piece at Ciudad Rodrigo.

This is NOT a Siege - no Units ever ENTER or hide in or otherwise benefit from the Fortress in a Duchy.

The French are the attackers and must play any Battle card(s) they wish to FIRST.

They decline, as do the Spanish, who expect the worst - and get it.

The Spanish would LIKE to Play card 40: "Call for Reinforcements" - for this would allow them to roll for reinforcements from up to two Duchies away to enter the Battle. This could not include the surviving Spanish infantry Unit in Valladolid from prior play of "The Mob" card since its victory was not an Overrun. Unfortunately, for the British, Wellington has already tried to intercept and failed - and thus cannot do so again this Impulse. Beresford has no Units with him to come to the Spanish aid. The other single Spanish & British Units that are within range, even if sufficiently lucky to roll the needed intercept dice results, are unlikely to be enough to turn the tide of Battle - and are more than likely to just become casualties and increase the magnitude of a French victory, so the Spanish decide to hold the card for a better time.

The French player collects dice. Joseph gets four dice for his Units (two cavalry), one die for the Battle Rating of Joseph, two more dice for the French National Bonus AND one MORE die because the enemy cavalry Unit tried to evade and failed.

This gives the French Eight Dice.

The Spanish have two dice (the cavalry Unit is worth two Units).

The French roll three fives (5, 5, 5) - that is three hits - but no kills, just disrupts.

The Spanish, however, do not roll ANY fives or sixes - and get NO hits!

The French inflict three MORE hits than they took and the Battle is a Rout. The three disrupts become kills.

The Spanish cavalry is removed from the map. This would normally be a Flag Overrun, as the Spanish cannot satisfy their losses. A Fortress, however, cannot be taken by Flag Overrun - so it just becomes a normal Overrun - no Flag is placed, but the French may continue their impulse with Joseph's Army.

The French do not have any CPs left to move and couldn't move off the Cuidad Rodrigo Fortress this impulse anyway, even if they had another CP (9.52). They cannot play another card… for they played a Plus card to start, then played the "House of Rothschild", which gave them a rare chance to make a third card play, which got them to their current situation.

They can, however, Siege the Fortress, because they inflicted an Overrun on the enemy Force in the Duchy.

The French may play Battle cards that apply to Sieges --- and the French have a pair of such cards, their "Really Big Guns" (Card 21) and "Massed Grenadiers" (Card 70). These two cards are played.

The French Army of Joseph will roll EIGHT dice (four for the cavalry, two for the National Bonus, one for Joseph's Battle Rating and one more for the "Massed Grenadiers").

Normally, only sixes count against a Fortress, but the "Really Big Guns" lets each pair of fives rolled cause a hit.

The French roll two sixes and two fives - that is three hits, enough to take the Fortress with its defense of three in a single go.

The Spanish score no hits with their three dice roll.

The French remove the Spanish Flag from Ciudad Rodrigo - it is French Armee du Nord's once again.

The French may roll for "Sack and Pillage" -- but before doing so play Response Card 7 - "Loot and Pillage." This gains the Armee du Nord a Resource AND a card from the deck (Card 47, "Call Up the Next Class" is drawn - this will be helpful later in the game as it will bring the French more troops).

The French roll for "Sack and Pillage," adding two to their single die's result because they took the Fortress in one round (two less than its defense rating). A "five" is rolled - adding two, it becomes a "seven" - enough for yet another and fourth Resource.

Round Over and Premption

With this play, the French Armee du Nord Impulse, and with it the Round, is over. All "Battle or failed Intercept" markers are removed. The Turn has a long way to go and unless Armee du Sud (green) chooses to exercise Preemption (for it now has the most cards in its hand of any Power…seven versus six for Britain); it is now the British Impulse once again.

Looking Ahead

The situation in the center is a puzzling one for both sides. Spain and Britain have a number of cards left, as does the Armee du Sud Power -- and these include several powerful cards. The round was a furious one in which many, many cards were spent, and the game has only just begun! Armee du Nord, in particular, dumped a LOT of cards during this first Round of play, but still has four Resources (which are, in effect, potential additional cards). .

A big problem for the British is that they have the "Italian Adventure" restriction placed on them - they MUST take its 2 CP as their next scheduled Impulse. As they do not have any PLUS cards in their hand, other than "Admiralty/Hearts of Oak"… a card which the British wish to retain should an amphibious invasion opportunity arise once Beresford receives some strength, their next impulse is going to be at best a short one.

Wellington, reduced to a 1-4 due to the lingering effect of the "Humbugged" card, is cut off from the British Home Duchies in Portugal (which is where the British can nearest build troops). This is annoying, but Wellington could try to cut his way back home. He could knock out Joseph and once again besiege Ciudad Rodrigo, or take the easier route through Lumbrales where the lone French infantry there is unlikely to stop him. Alternatively, Wellington could drive on Clausel's Army in Madrid, braving the Attrition for crossing the two mountain passes (to and from Avila) or going around the top, across the river to Lerma (giving the French three bonus dice in Battle and during the NEXT British Impulse possibly come down the mountain pass from Lerma into Madrid, again braving Attrition.

These are expensive and risky propositions that are likely to get Wellington killed, barring some good fortune. Then again, the British may take the long-term approach, build up Beresford and in lieu of a naval move, prepare to march HIM to hit Joseph, thus restoring Wellington's line of communication and setting up for the following Impulse, when the effects of the "Humbugged" and "Italian Adventure" Cards will be gone. That, of course, leaves Wellington out on a limb, but Armee du Nord does not APPEAR to have the power or cards to hit Wellington in the meantime.

Armee du Sud and the Spanish are likely to turn their attention to where THEIR forces are gathered - namely the southern portion of the map. Many important victory centers (the square Duchies or "Keys" as well as Fortresses) are situated there, and neither Armee du Sud nor the Spanish gained any victory points out of the First Impulse.

Armee du Sud in particular has the tempting "Duke of Damnation" Card - Home Card 109. This could be used to swing the Armee du Sud's best general, Soult (a 4-9), who is Battle Rated second only to Wellington himself, up north to face Wellington, or Soult could gather up scattered green infantry Units into a major Army capable of threatening Portugal or the few Keys still retained by the Spanish. Whether this should take place before or after playing "The Eagles Come South", which can re-energize French good fortunes in Spain, is a delicious dilemma for the green Power to contemplate.

As for Armee du Nord, with "German Conscripts" (French Home Card 101) and "Call up the Next Class" (Card 47) and its FOUR Resources (the two it began with plus the one gained retaking Ciudad Rodrigo and one for the "Loot & Pillage" Card…lucky for them that "Corruption & Sabotage" card 46 showed up during the preceding Spanish impulse!), the way is clear: build troops and buy cards -- some of which may allow the Armee du Nord to attack again, but that will be during another Impulse.

Things are looking up for the French: but Wellington can be fickle and only continued play will reveal the fates.

Incidentally, the kind of luck described in this Tutorial… both with card draws and dice rolling, DID actually occur during Wellington's play-testing at one time or another! Furthermore, readers are urged to consider possible play variations for this Tutorial which did not occur. For example, what if Spain played the "Stragglers" Response card Event on blue as soon as Joseph's Army departed Madrid? Wellington can be a game of many possible resolutions.

- Fred Schachter, Developer -