Monitor page
for changes
    
   it's private  

by ChangeDetection
Wilderness War Errata and Clarifications
as of 17 Jan 2002
New items in blue.

I. Rule Book

  • 4.0 A.2. Exception (VERY IMPORTANT Clarification). If a player holds a card, he receives one less card in the next deal. In essence, a player's total "hand size" may never be increased by holding a card from the previous season. Example: The French player has a 9 card hand. He decides to hold a card. In the next deal, he receives 8 cards, since his held card will bring him to his 9 card hand.
  • 7.55 (Clarification). Only one "Fieldworks" marker may be placed per space.
  • 7.8 (Clarification). If both sides are eliminated, the winner is the side that caused most step losses on the CRT. Defenders still win ties.
  • 8.1 and 14.0 (Clarification). This is to answer the "timing issues" of interceptions and the decision to retreat into a fort/fortress. 1. Interception occurs before units already in the space must decide whether to fight or retreat into the fort/fortress. 2. Intercepting units that intercept into a friendly fort/fortress MUST fight a batle (14.1, first bullet), they may not intercept then retreat inside the fort/fortress (but units that started in the fort/fortress space may still choose to go into the fort/fortress prior to the battle).
  • 8.1 and 15.3 (Clarification). Units must be declared "inside" or "outside" a fort/fortress before any "Avoid Battle" die roll is made.
  • 8.231 (Clarification). If the Attacker plays "Surrender," he may do this after the Defender plays "Coehorns," if applicable.
  • 8.231 (Clarification). The besieger may elect to roll on the Siege Table even if the appropriate siege level for the fort or fortress has been reached. The Siege level can never be increased beyond "2," but a decision to roll on the Siege Table would allow the "Surrender" card to be played.
  • 8.24 Exception (Clarification). If a fortress reverts back to the original owner's control due to the enemy leaving the fortress unoccupied, the original owner gains 3 VPs.
  • 9.1 (Clarification) If the requirements for an assault have been met, a force consisting solely of Auxiliaries may assault the fort/fortress.
  • 9.11 (Clarification). A leader must be in a space to initiate an assault (since force activation is needed). If more than one leader is in a space, the highest Command rated leader must be activated.
  • 10.2 Exception (Clarification). If the Raiding units overran (7.82) defenders on their way to raid a stockade, Militia may deploy to defend the stockade. The intent of this rule was that if Raiders won a battle in a stockade space and won, the Militia could not then deploy and force them to fight a second battle!
  • 11.1, 2nd Bullet (Clarification). Add the word [space], including the italics, after the word stockade.
  • 13.0 (Clarification). To infiltrate, the lone auxiliary (or leader plus auxiliary) must enter the infiltrated space with no other units. That is, a leader may not "drop off" units in an enemy occupied (units or fortifications) space and then infiltrate through that space with a lone auxiliary.
  • 13.1 (For Clarity, Change Entire Section). 13.1 A unit that attempts to Infiltrate a space must have sufficient movement allowance to continue, assuming successful infiltration(s), to a space that it may enter without using infiltration.
  • 14.1 (Errata). If all besieging units leave a besieged space (lifting the siege), the formerly besieged units cannot attempt to intercept in the first space [only] of movement on the turn the siege is lifted.
  • 14.1 (Clarification). If a unit or force Intercepts into a space where there are already defenders, 7.1 applies, and all defenders not inside a fort/fortress must participate in the resulting (single) Battle.
II. Cards
  • Call Out Militias. The French player may only place Canadian Militia and only in the St. Lawrence Canadian Militias box. The British player may only place Colonial Militia and only in the Northern Colonial Militias and/or Southern Colonial Militias box.
  • Fieldworks. Once on the board, they are only removed when 1) the Defender using them loses a battle, 2) the Attacker plays a "Fieldworks" card of his own, or 3) friendly units in the "Fieldworks" space destroy them. If the "Fieldworks" space is left vacant, then the first player moving in may use them -- so it's a good idea to destroy them when you leave the space!
  • George Croghan. If "Foul Weather" is played, it is played prior to the play of this card.
  • Massacre. If "Massacre" is played after "Surrender," all Indians in the space (friendly and enemy) are eliminated.
  • Massacre. If all Drilled Troops are eliminated in an Assault, "Massacre" may not be played.
  • Massacre: If a stockade space is destroyed (in battle) by a force that contains Drilled Troops and Indians, "Massacre" may be played.
III. Playbook
  • Page 10, second column: Change the second "British Action Phase Seven" to "British Action Phase Eight".
  • Page 11, first column, British Action Phase Two: In the sentence "First, he moves Dunbar's force to Hudson Carry North" change "North" to "South".
IV. Optional Rules
  • (10.31 Addition) An enemy raid marker placed within a Department immediately causes a step loss to one militia unit in that Department (owner's choice). HISTORICAL NOTE: This represents the effect of population flight from threatened areas.
  • (5.21 Addition) The cards #67 WILLIAM PITT and #69 DIPLOMATIC REVOLUTION, if one has been played as an event and the other is in the discard pile, the player who could play the second as an event automatically receives it as one of his cards in the next deal. HISTORICAL NOTE: This represents the interlinked escalation of the war between Britain and France.
  • (12.0 Victory Point Table Addition) When BRITISH REGULARS or FRENCH REGULARS events are played in 1755 or 1756, the other side receives 1 VP. HISTORICAL NOTE: This represents the political and resource cost of committing European units to the New World before general war is underway.
  • (Card Addition) Event #66, ACADIANS EXPELLED, can be played by either side (the effects are the same). HISTORICAL NOTE: This represents that fact that pro-French guerilla activity in Acadia played a roll in inspiring the British evacuation of the French-speaking population.
  • (Card Addition) Event #7, SURRENDER!, can be played by either the sieging or besieged side (the requirements and effects are the same). HISTORICAL NOTE: This represents that fact that local commanders might grant an enemy more generous surrender terms than his distant superiors might have desired.