Monitor page
for changes
    
   it's private  

by ChangeDetection
Paths of Glory Errata and Clarifications
as of June 1, 2000
New items in blue.

Rules

4.2.4 (Optional) Players who wish may use this optional alternative set up, which can help balance the game for those who find it favors the Allies:

  • Remove one AH at start Corps from the Reserve Box and place it in Stanislaw.
  • Remove one AH at start Corps from the Reserve Box and place it in Trent
  • Remove one RU at start Corps from the Reserve Box and place it at Lutsk.
  • Remove the Trench at Brussels.
  • Add a Level 1 Trench at Strasbourg.
  • Add a Level 1 Trench at Verona.

5.1.3 (Optional) Another optional rule for those who find the game favors the Allies. Add 1 CP VP if they are the first to reach Limited War and 1 VP if they are the first to reach Total War (they must be first in each case by a turn, not a round).

7.1.3 (Clarification) Add to the end of the 1st sentence "against an enemy combat unit."

7.1.5 (Add) Treat GE Mandated Offensives as "None" after the H-L Take Command Event is in effect (as noted on the Central Powers Mandated Offensive Table).

7.1.6 Change the start of the last sentence to read "If Italy is neutral or completely occupied by the CP during the Mandated Offensive Phase?."Add to the end of the 1st sentence "a space in Italy, or a space containing Allied units tracing supply through a space in Italy."

9.1.4 (Optional) Those who wish to gain greater control over the card play should use an 8 rather than 7 card hand. All normal rules apply; players simply are now able to hold an extra card in their hand.

Add New Rule 9.2.7.1 It costs 3 OPS to activate the MEF Army for movement or combat. It costs 1 OPS per corps to activate other Allied units tracing supply (at the moment of activation) through the MEF Beach Head marker. (So for example, a stack that included the MEF and 2 corps would cost 5 OPS to activate.) A player may not pay to partially activate a stack under this rule-the entire OPS cost per activated space must be paid. This rule does not apply if the MEF is brought in as a normal reinforcement under 9.5.3.4.

9.5.2.5 (New Rule) If the CP player is currently at Total War (has previously added his TW cards to his deck) and the Allied player is not yet at Total War (has not yet added his TW cards to his deck) the Allied player may NOT play either the Italian or Romanian Entry Cards (Cards number 16, 17) as OPS, SR, or RP. Under those conditions he may only play them as Events (entering Italy or Romania on the Allied side). He may also treat them as unused Combat Cards and discard them under the provisions of rule 9.5.4.5. These effects are removed at the start of any turn that the Allied player TW cards are in play.

9.5.3.1 (Clarification) A player may play reinforcements if his capitol is under enemy control if he has somewhere to put them. Note this does not apply to the special Orleans exception.

9.5.3.3 (Add sentence) Reinforcing Armies must be in supply when placed.

9.5.3.3 Clarification: In cases where more than one Reinforcing army is entered on a single card play, the two armies do not have to enter at the same space. Add New Rule 11.1.14 The Arab Northern Army unit is an exception to case 11.1.13. The ANA does not convert CP spaces it enters. Instead any CP space (except for a besieged fort space) the ANA occupies is considered under Allied control. The instant the ANA leaves such a space it reverts to CP control. The ANA has no effect on spaces converted by other Allied units-these remain Allied after the ANA exits.

9.5.3.4. No Allied Army but the MEF may use the MEF Beach Head for supply. Only BR and AUS Corps may use the Beach Head for supply.

11.0 (Clarification) You MUST complete the movement of one stack before moving another.

Add New Rule 11.1.14 The Arab Northern Army unit is an exception to case 11.1.13. The ANA does not convert CP spaces it enters. Instead any CP space (except for a besieged fort space) the ANA occupies is considered under Allied control. The instant the ANA leaves such a space it reverts to CP control. The ANA has no effect on spaces converted by other Allied units-these remain Allied after the ANA exits.

11.1.15 New Rule: Neither the BEF Corps nor Army may operate (move or attack into) in any space outside Britain, France, Belgium and Germany.

Add New Optional Rule 11.2.9 (OPTIONAL) Players who wish my use this optional rule. Anytime a player's attempt to entrench a space containing BR, FR, IT or GE armies fails he may place an Entrenchment Attempted marker on that unit. If more than one eligible army occupies the space he must choose which made the entrench attempt and gets the marker. Any further attempts to entrench that space by that unit will get a -1 drm. The marker is removed either when the attempt is successful (so markers placed to build a Level 1 Trench may not be used to upgrade to a Level 2 Trench), the marked army attacks or leaves the space, or the army is eliminated (including replaced by a corps from the Reserve box). There is no limit to the number of Entrenchment Attempted markers that may be in play at one time, though only one per space.

11.3.1 (Addition) Add "or attack into" after "may enter" in the 1st sentence.

12.1.1 (Add as last sentence) A player may not attack a space which contains only enemy units that retreated in the current Round

12.1.8 (Add) Russian Armies cannot make attacks from the To Caucasus Box and the Near East. One Russian corps may attack/retreat between the To Caucasus box and the Near East per turn-this counts as the one move allowed under 13.2.2.

12.3.1 third bullet (Clarification) The defending space is not Swamp nor Mountain, does not contain a Trench marker, and is not an unoccupied fort.

12.3.2 (Clarification) In a Flank Attack Attempt, the Attacker must designate any one attacking space as the "frontal assault" or "pinning" space. Each attacking space except the "pinning" space that is not connected by a solid line to any enemy occupied space except the target space provides a +1 drm to the Flank Attack Attempt die roll. Spaces containing only an enemy fort are not considered occupied for this rule. Enemy occupied spaces connected to friendly attacking units only by dotted lines are ignored for the purpose of determining Flank Attack Attempt drms.

12.4.4.1 (Addition): This replacement with a Corps from the Reserve Box can occur even if the Army is OOS, but the OOS Army is permanently eliminated.

12.4.4.2 (New Rule): If a space with only two full strength 3 LF Armies suffers a 7 LP result or a space with only two full strength 2 LP Armies suffer a 5 result, and in either case there are no Corps in the Reserve Box, the two armies may not be reduced. Instead one army must be eliminated (as if there were a Corps in Reserve to take the last LP) and permanently removed.

12.4.5 (Addition): Similarly in any combat involving the Russian CAU Army as the attacker that unit must take the first loss if possible without exceeding the Loss Number.

12.4.5 (clarification) In all cases 12.4.5 takes precedence over 12.4.3.

12.5.5 third bullet (Clarification) "Must retreat into friendly controlled spaces if possible, but may retreat into empty enemy controlled spaces if it is not (they do not gain control of enemy controlled spaces they retreat through; they do gain control of spaces they retreat into [Exception: see 15.1.9])."

13.1.6 (Add) Units can SR through a hex that contains a besieged enemy fort.

13.1.7 (Clarification) Corps may also SR by sea from one friendly controlled port space to another friendly controlled port space. Units that SR by sea may not combine this with SR overland. They must start and end in a friendly controlled port space. Armies may never SR by sea.

13.1.8 (Clarification) Units may SR out of the Reserve box into any space containing a supplied unit of the same nationality within the stacking limit. The rest of 13.1.8 remains unchanged.

13.1.8 (Add) 13.1.8 (Add) USA Corps may SR from the Reserve box to any Allied controlled port in France.

14.1.2 (Clarification) To be in supply, units must trace supply through any number of friendly controlled spaces to a supply source [Exception: A player may not trace supply through a space containing a friendly besieged fort]. A supply line must be traced across either solid or dotted lines across which the tracing unit could move.

14.1.4 (Clarification) Alternatively, units may trace supply to a friendly controlled unbesieged port space, and then directly to a friendly supply space, or to another friendly controlled unbesieged port and overland to a friendly supply space. No more than 2 ports may be involved in a supply line.

Add New Rule 14.1.8 Turkish units in Medina are always in supply for attrition purposes only. Note this does not apply to the space by itself but to Turk units, so if Medina is abandoned putting it OOS will convert it to the Allies. This gives the Turks a reason to do what they did historically-leave a corps there the entire war. (Again misleading playtesting-the Turks always pulled out of Medina right away-they wanted the corps-so the question of how it could survive there till the end got overlooked.)

15.1.1 (Clarification) No units may enter a space that contains an unbeseiged fort either during movement or advance, unless they can beseige the fort. Units which enter a space that contains an unbeseiged fort may not move nor advance further during the Action Round.

15.2.4 (Add new 1st sentence) A player may not move units off a besieged fort in such a manner that the fort is occupied but not besieged at the end of the round.

16.3.4 (Clarification) 1st Sentence should read: "The "Over There" Event may not be played before the turn following the play of "Zimmermann Telegram."

16.4.4 (Clarification) The "Fall of the Tsar" Event may be played only if the "Tsar Takes Command" Event has been played and the Combined War Status plus the Current CP Russian VP is 33 or higher. The rest of 16.4.4 remains unchanged.

16.4.6 (Clarification) The two numbered paragraphs should now read:

  • the Current CP Russian VP marker is in a higher box on the General Records Track than the Tsar Fell CP Russian VP marker (counting a captured Baku if applicable), or
  • the Central Powers control all seven VP spaces in European Russia (excluding Baku).

16.4.9.1 New Rule: When Brest-Litovsk is played Russian units may not operate outside Russia, Germany, Turkey, Austria and Romania-any units outside those countries should be eliminated. Russian units after Brest-Litovsk may never move through or stack with Allied units (and vice versa). Russian units currently stacked with Allied units are eliminated (interned). [This prevents the Allied player from using Russian units after Brest-Litovsk from protecting Allied units from attack.]

17.1.4.1 (Addition) German and Austrian units tracing supply to Sofia or Constantinople, Turkish units tracing supply to Essen, Breslau or Sofia, Bulgarian units tracing supply to Essen, Breslau or Constantinople, and Russian and Romanian units tracing supply to Belgrade may not receive replacements. In addition units may not SR to or from the Reserve Box under these conditions.

Map Clarification

Munich is a VP space although the outline is a thick black line instead of red one.

Cards
CP Cards

Wireless Intercepts Card #2: (Clarification) This card is played during the Attempt Flank Attack step instead of the Play Combat Cards step. The CP player can not wait until the Flank Attack Attempt fails to play the card.

Allied Cards

Withdrawal Card #6: (Clarification) This card must be played at the normal for card play which means it is played before the battle's outcome is known. Developer's Note: This represents a planned action and not a response to overwhelming losses.

Card # 13 The Rape of Belgium: (Add) The Rape of Belgium may only be played as an Event if the Allied War Status is still at Mobilization, not Limited or Total War

Great Retreat Card #27: (Clarification) If the Russians use the Great Retreat Effect in a combat there is no combat resolution and any Combat Cards are treated as unplayed (returned to the owner's hand).

The Kerensky Offensive card (Allied #45) is NOT a CC card.

Card #49: Sinai Pipeline may be played regardless of who controls the Sinai space.

General

(Clarification) Only one side may play the Entrench* Event per game.

Set Up

In all scenarios add a CP Level 1 Trench at Giresun.

Questions & Answers

Q: Is Paris really not a supply source?
Yes, it is not a supply source.

Q: Does the BE Army go OOS if no supply path to London?
Only if it has no sea supply route to London.

Q: Allied Mobilization card (#6)
  • What happens if the resulting Allied loss is greater than the available loss factors? Since only one Corps step loss is negated, is the entire stack still eliminated? Or is the intent that one reduced Corps survive the combat to retreat no matter what the outcome?
    --The intent is at least one reduced Corps will always survive.
  • Do all surviving Allied units retreat one space regardless of the outcome, or does the "saved" unit retreat one space while the rest may have to retreat two?
    --Everybody retreats one space.
  • Do the surviving Allied units still have to retreat one space even if they won the combat?
    --Yes.

Q: The Allied "They Shall Not Pass" card (#39) remains in play normally as long as the defenders win, but only has an effect (and is discarded) when the defender loses. Thus despite the lack of a Permanently Removed Indicator, it is really only "used" once before being discarded--an elegant mechanism!
Correct.

Q: Can the CP player before Race to the Sea Event is played or his war status is 4 move an army which starts in Brussels through Ostend and Calais and then back to Brussels?
Yes, this does not violate the Race to the Sea rule. He also gains control and the victory points for Calais and Ostend.

Q: US entry -- The cards say that Over There can only be played on a turn FOLLOWING Zimmerman telegraph, and US Reinforcements on turns FOLLOWING Over There. The rules make it sound like you don't have to wait until the next turn, but can play the cards immediately. Does the wording on the cards take precedence?
Yes.

Q: War in Africa: If the British player elects to remove a corps from "the game," can this corps be from the deadpile? If not, are there any restrictions?
You can't take it from the deadpile (sending dead troops won't help much) but otherwise no restrictions.

Q: Strategic Redeployment: Corps can SR out of the Reserve box into "...any supply source in their nation..." Can Serbian corps SR to any friendly controlled space in Serbia, since Serbian units are always in supply in Serbia?
No, the Serbs are in supply in Serbia but Belgrade (or possibly Salonika) is the only "supply source."

Q: Libya: The Libyans can't be played if there is an enemy corps in Libya. When can Allied corps enter Libya? After Turkey enters the war?
Correct on both.

Q: OOS Question: The rules state that forts are never affected by being out of supply. Are combat units in forts affected, or just the forts themselves (that is, would all combat units in an OOS fort die during the Attrition Phase, while the fort remained in friendly hands)?
Just the forts survive-the combat units die (enough food for the garrison, not enough for those other guys).

Q: Can the Tsar Takes Command and Fall of the Tsar Events be played in the same turn?
Yes. The Bolshevik Revolution must wait until a turn after Fall of the Tsar Event is played.

Q: Mandated Offensives: So one can always fulfill these by just attacking with some reduced Corps somewhere, guaranteeing that the MO will cost no more than 1/2 RP??
Yes, it still uses up 1 OPS and results in a lost unit which can be valuable.

Q: GE stack has two armies in it, one full strength, the other reduced. The stack receives a loss result of 5. The rules seem to imply that one must take the losses as replacing the reduced army with a full strength corp (3 loss factors taken) and then removing the corp (2 more loss factors taken). One can't reduce the full strength army and then have two reduced armies (with a LF of 3) that can't 'take' the remaining 2 loss factors. Is this correct?
Yes, you are right that you can't play games to prevent from taking the maximum loss.

Q: Can you SR thru a hex that contains a besieged enemy fort?
Yes. Besieged spaces are basically yours for all but VPs.

Q: If you have the Flamethrowers CC face up from winning an earlier attack, and then you subsequently lose a Defending combat, do you lose the face-up attack CC?
Flamethrowers is discarded immediately after the combat it is played in because of the '*'. However, the real question is about repeated use of a CC if you win. You must still meet the conditions of the CC to use it in future battles. A CC is discarded if you lose a battle in which you used it's drm.

Q: Is Antwerp a port?
No.

Q: If RU army besieges Konigberg and RU force takes Memel, is GE 8th army in Insterberg now OOS?
Yes, to do this assumes that the Russian army moves through Tannenberg which is what cuts the final supply. Of course this can't be done on Turn 1 because the Russians can't enter or attack German forts then.

Q: Or does besieged fort in Konigsberg allow tracing supply thru it to 8th army?
No

Q: If a supply source is besieged, I assume reinforcements cannot arrive there as there is no provision for being IN a fort.
Correct

Q:I assume a lowly 0-1-3 can attack and meet mandated offensive requirements.
Correct

Q: It's implied in the extended example that in a single round you can activate units on different fronts that are nowhere near each other. Is this correct? It seems a little strange to see Russia and France coordinating offensives.
You can spend OPS on any front or fronts. This isn't a matter of coordination-it is a matter of time scale. The Russian front isn't quiet just because the western front is active.

Q: Do units who lost a defense in a fort retreat from same?
Yes.

Q: May US Corps SR from the Reserve Box to friendly controlled ports in France?
A: No, you need an Army (or other corps) in France for them to enter by SR. This represents the insistence of Pershing (and Wilson) on the US operating as an independent force.

Q: Do the SR NE restrictions apply to SR by sea to/from Constantinople?
A: Yes.

Q: How do you "knock out" a country. I couldn't see any capitulation rules. Is it as simple as taking the capital, supply sources? Taking all spaces, etc?
A: You can't (except for Russia). You can eliminate the other side's armies (and keep them from coming back into the game) but technically only Russia capitulates (and only if you play Brest-Litovsk).

Q: This somehow seems wrong. A full-strength army that is reduced cannot advance, but a reduced-strength army that is reduced can! Maybe the rule should be any unit that "takes damage" cannot advance?
A: No, the rule as it stands is what I intended. The danger of advancing a corps is enough of an impediment to making excessive use of it.

Q: Been meaning to ask a question about this. Do the effects of a trench and mountain combine?
A: Yes, terrain is cumulative.

Q: Which brings to mind an interesting hypothetical question - suppose there are British units in Persia (say Ahwaz), and the Turks capture Basra (unlikely I know) - the British UNITS are gone for being OoS, but does the space they occupy stay Allied if it can trace supply to Russia?
A: Yes.

Q: If OOS Armies are attacked and eliminated, are they removed permanently from the game? I ask because it's clear that they can be replaced by corps, yet if they were OOS in the attrition phase they'd be dead forever.
A: Yes-an army eliminated OOS is out of the game.

Q: Can Russian units SR through the Russian boxes? That is, if a Russian unit is in "To Caucusus," could it SR up to "To Moscow" and then out on the board? This would come into play if there are enemy units in Uman and Odessa.
A: No-though you could SR corps into the reserve box and back onto the map elsewhere.

Q: I think I may have come up with an ambiguous situation, due to special rules about Constantinople. 1. BR takes Con. 2. BU takes Gal. 3. BR takes Sofia and still holds Serbia. Now what happens to Constantinople space in terms of ownership? CP does not own it as they cannot trace supply to it. AL does not own it as they cannot trace supply to it, due to special rule. What happens to it?
A: All CP units in the Near East would be OOS and eliminated. The BU unit at Gallipoli is OOS and eliminated. The BR unit at Constantinople is OOS and eliminated. The TU NE spaces are OOS and become Allied. Constantinople is OOS (unless there is an overland route to the Serbs or Salonika but I'm assuming not in your example) and becomes CP, and Gallipoli is OOS and becomes Allied. Note that 14.3.6 doesn't say you have to be able to trace supply to a space to make it yours-it says if that space were a friendly unit and would be eliminated by being OOS it becomes the enemy's space. So the fact that the CP can't trace supply to Constantinople is irrelevant-it is the fact the Allies can't trace supply that switches it back to the CP, just as the fact that the CP can't trace to Gallipoli switches it back to the Allies. All of which is again simultaneous.

Q: Also, just to be sure, even if BR takes all of NE map, they cannot trace supply to Con without going through Gal?
A: No, if they ALREADY had a supply route through the NE they could use that.

Q: A stack of 1 French army and 2 corps is attacked. All units are full strength. The Allies play Withdrawal. The French take 3 losses. Is it legal for the French to take the 3 losses by flipping the army and then negating this damage through the Withdrawal card that saves one step loss.
A: No-if he can fulfill his losses through corps and thus save a corps step with the card he must play it that way. Only if losing an army step (and no corps steps) is the ONLY way to fulfill the result may he cancel an army step through withdrawal.

Q: Two full strength French armies are attacked and must take 7 losses. There are no French corps in the reserve box. Can the Allies flip both Armies and ignore the last point of damage? If there was a corps in the reserve box one army would be forced to be eliminated and its replacement corps reduced to satisfy all 7 losses.
A: No, in this case one army would be permanently eliminated, the other untouched. You would reduce the army as IF there was a corps in Reserve, then it would be out of the game because there isn't. Otherwise you'd be rewarding the player for bad play-having no units in reserve.

Q: If a space containing a friendly Trench 1 converts to enemy control due to the space being OOS in the Attrition phase, does the Trench1 disappear, convert to an enemy Trench1, or remain as a friendly Trench1 in the enemy-controlled space?
A: Treat trenches in OOS situations exactly as you would if an enemy unit entered the space (level 1 gone, level 2 converted to an enemy level 1).

Q:If defending unit(s) have a 2 hex retreat, and the only way to fufill the retreat is to move into or through an enemy controlled hex, do the retreating units have the option to retreat to a friendly hex first, then end in the enemy hex (converting the space), or must they attempt to end their retreat in a friendly controlled space if this option exists?
A: You must end in a friendly controlled space if possible.

Q: Here's one I can't figure out -- the old "slip and slide" besiege. OK, there's an Austrian corps in Lutsk, besieging the fortress there. On the next move, can this corps move to Dubno and besiege there, lifting the siege at Lutsk? This seems like a "loophole" that would let the enemy infiltrate through fortress lines; start besieging one, then slip past it to one behind it. Is this legal?
A: You CAN do that (you can move off a besieged fort space you start in in any direction)-it isn't a loophole though because unless someone else takes over the siege of Lutsk (or you have another supply line to Dubno-in which case some other unit could presumably move into Dubno anyway, so you aren't "slipping" past) the unit in Dubno will be OOS, eliminated in the attrition phase-before sieges are resolved- and have accomplished nothing.

Q: What happens to CC cards played when the RU use the effect of Great Retreat? I suppose those with a * are gone but happens to the others. Are you considered having won because the RU retreat?
A: An important clarification: If the Russians use the Great Retreat effect there is no combat and any combat cards are treated as unplayed.

Q: AH forces occupy Belgrade and destroy all Serb forces. In the attrition phase, what happens to control of all of the Serbian spaces not occupied by AH units? Do they remain Allied since Serbian units there would not be OOS in the attrition phase?
A: Yes.