Paths of Glory Errata and Clarifications|
as of June 1, 2000
New items in blue.
4.2.4 (Optional) Players who wish may use this optional
alternative set up, which can help balance the game for
those who find it favors the Allies:
5.1.3 (Optional) Another optional rule for those who find
the game favors the Allies. Add 1 CP VP if they are the
first to reach Limited War and 1 VP if they are the first to
reach Total War (they must be first in each case by a turn,
not a round).
5.1.3 (Optional) Another optional rule for those who find the game favors the Allies. Add 1 CP VP if they are the first to reach Limited War and 1 VP if they are the first to reach Total War (they must be first in each case by a turn, not a round).
7.1.3 (Clarification) Add to the end of the 1st sentence "against an enemy combat unit."
7.1.5 (Add) Treat GE Mandated Offensives as "None" after the H-L Take Command Event is in effect (as noted on the Central Powers Mandated Offensive Table).
7.1.6 Change the start of the last sentence to read "If
Italy is neutral or completely occupied by the CP during the
Mandated Offensive Phase?."Add to the end of the 1st
sentence "a space in Italy, or a space containing Allied
units tracing supply through a space in Italy."
9.1.4 (Optional) Those who wish to gain greater control over
the card play should use an 8 rather than 7 card hand. All
normal rules apply; players simply are now able to hold an
extra card in their hand.
9.1.4 (Optional) Those who wish to gain greater control over the card play should use an 8 rather than 7 card hand. All normal rules apply; players simply are now able to hold an extra card in their hand.
Add New Rule 184.108.40.206 It costs 3 OPS to activate the MEF Army for movement or combat. It costs 1 OPS per corps to activate other Allied units tracing supply (at the moment of activation) through the MEF Beach Head marker. (So for example, a stack that included the MEF and 2 corps would cost 5 OPS to activate.) A player may not pay to partially activate a stack under this rule-the entire OPS cost per activated space must be paid. This rule does not apply if the MEF is brought in as a normal reinforcement under 220.127.116.11.
18.104.22.168 (New Rule) If the CP player is currently at Total
War (has previously added his TW cards to his deck) and the
Allied player is not yet at Total War (has not yet added his
TW cards to his deck) the Allied player may NOT play either
the Italian or Romanian Entry Cards (Cards number 16, 17) as
OPS, SR, or RP. Under those conditions he may only play them
as Events (entering Italy or Romania on the Allied side). He
may also treat them as unused Combat Cards and discard them
under the provisions of rule 22.214.171.124. These effects are
removed at the start of any turn that the Allied player TW
cards are in play.
126.96.36.199 (Clarification) A player may play reinforcements if
his capitol is under enemy control if he has somewhere to
put them. Note this does not apply to the special Orleans
188.8.131.52 (Clarification) A player may play reinforcements if his capitol is under enemy control if he has somewhere to put them. Note this does not apply to the special Orleans exception.
184.108.40.206 (Add sentence) Reinforcing Armies must be in supply when placed.
220.127.116.11 Clarification: In cases where more than one
Reinforcing army is entered on a single card play, the two
armies do not have to enter at the same space.
Add New Rule 11.1.14 The Arab Northern Army unit is an
exception to case 11.1.13. The ANA does not convert CP
spaces it enters. Instead any CP space (except for a
besieged fort space) the ANA occupies is considered under
Allied control. The instant the ANA leaves such a space it
reverts to CP control. The ANA has no effect on spaces
converted by other Allied units-these remain Allied after
the ANA exits.
No Allied Army but the MEF may use the MEF Beach Head for
supply. Only BR and AUS Corps may use the Beach Head for
11.0 (Clarification) You MUST complete the movement of one
stack before moving another.
18.104.22.168. No Allied Army but the MEF may use the MEF Beach Head for supply. Only BR and AUS Corps may use the Beach Head for supply.
11.0 (Clarification) You MUST complete the movement of one stack before moving another.
Add New Rule 11.1.14 The Arab Northern Army unit is an exception to case 11.1.13. The ANA does not convert CP spaces it enters. Instead any CP space (except for a besieged fort space) the ANA occupies is considered under Allied control. The instant the ANA leaves such a space it reverts to CP control. The ANA has no effect on spaces converted by other Allied units-these remain Allied after the ANA exits.
11.1.15 New Rule: Neither the BEF Corps nor Army may operate (move or attack into) in any space outside Britain, France, Belgium and Germany.
Add New Optional Rule 11.2.9 (OPTIONAL) Players who wish my use this optional rule. Anytime a player's attempt to entrench a space containing BR, FR, IT or GE armies fails he may place an Entrenchment Attempted marker on that unit. If more than one eligible army occupies the space he must choose which made the entrench attempt and gets the marker. Any further attempts to entrench that space by that unit will get a -1 drm. The marker is removed either when the attempt is successful (so markers placed to build a Level 1 Trench may not be used to upgrade to a Level 2 Trench), the marked army attacks or leaves the space, or the army is eliminated (including replaced by a corps from the Reserve box). There is no limit to the number of Entrenchment Attempted markers that may be in play at one time, though only one per space.
11.3.1 (Addition) Add "or attack into" after "may enter" in the 1st sentence.
12.1.1 (Add as last sentence) A player may not attack a
space which contains only enemy units that retreated in the
12.1.8 (Add) Russian Armies cannot make attacks from the To
Caucasus Box and the Near East. One Russian corps may
attack/retreat between the To Caucasus box and the Near East
per turn-this counts as the one move allowed under 13.2.2.
12.1.8 (Add) Russian Armies cannot make attacks from the To Caucasus Box and the Near East. One Russian corps may attack/retreat between the To Caucasus box and the Near East per turn-this counts as the one move allowed under 13.2.2.
12.3.1 third bullet (Clarification) The defending space is not Swamp nor Mountain, does not contain a Trench marker, and is not an unoccupied fort.
12.3.2 (Clarification) In a Flank Attack Attempt, the Attacker must designate any one attacking space as the "frontal assault" or "pinning" space. Each attacking space except the "pinning" space that is not connected by a solid line to any enemy occupied space except the target space provides a +1 drm to the Flank Attack Attempt die roll. Spaces containing only an enemy fort are not considered occupied for this rule. Enemy occupied spaces connected to friendly attacking units only by dotted lines are ignored for the purpose of determining Flank Attack Attempt drms.
22.214.171.124 (Addition): This replacement with a Corps from the Reserve Box can occur even if the Army is OOS, but the OOS Army is permanently eliminated.
126.96.36.199 (New Rule): If a space with only two full strength 3 LF Armies suffers a 7 LP result or a space with only two full strength 2 LP Armies suffer a 5 result, and in either case there are no Corps in the Reserve Box, the two armies may not be reduced. Instead one army must be eliminated (as if there were a Corps in Reserve to take the last LP) and permanently removed.
12.4.5 (Addition): Similarly in any combat involving the Russian CAU Army as the attacker that unit must take the first loss if possible without exceeding the Loss Number.
12.4.5 (clarification) In all cases 12.4.5 takes precedence over 12.4.3.
12.5.5 third bullet (Clarification) "Must retreat into friendly controlled spaces if possible, but may retreat into empty enemy controlled spaces if it is not (they do not gain control of enemy controlled spaces they retreat through; they do gain control of spaces they retreat into [Exception: see 15.1.9])."
13.1.6 (Add) Units can SR through a hex that contains a besieged enemy fort.
13.1.7 (Clarification) Corps may also SR by sea from one friendly controlled port space to another friendly controlled port space. Units that SR by sea may not combine this with SR overland. They must start and end in a friendly controlled port space. Armies may never SR by sea.
13.1.8 (Clarification) Units may SR out of the Reserve box into any space containing a supplied unit of the same nationality within the stacking limit. The rest of 13.1.8 remains unchanged.
13.1.8 (Add) 13.1.8 (Add) USA Corps may SR from the Reserve box to any Allied controlled port in France.
14.1.2 (Clarification) To be in supply, units must trace supply through any number of friendly controlled spaces to a supply source [Exception: A player may not trace supply through a space containing a friendly besieged fort]. A supply line must be traced across either solid or dotted lines across which the tracing unit could move.
14.1.4 (Clarification) Alternatively, units may trace supply to a friendly controlled unbesieged port space, and then directly to a friendly supply space, or to another friendly controlled unbesieged port and overland to a friendly supply space. No more than 2 ports may be involved in a supply line.
Add New Rule 14.1.8 Turkish units in Medina are always in supply for attrition purposes only. Note this does not apply to the space by itself but to Turk units, so if Medina is abandoned putting it OOS will convert it to the Allies. This gives the Turks a reason to do what they did historically-leave a corps there the entire war. (Again misleading playtesting-the Turks always pulled out of Medina right away-they wanted the corps-so the question of how it could survive there till the end got overlooked.)
15.1.1 (Clarification) No units may enter a space that contains an unbeseiged fort either during movement or advance, unless they can beseige the fort. Units which enter a space that contains an unbeseiged fort may not move nor advance further during the Action Round.
15.2.4 (Add new 1st sentence) A player may not move units off a besieged fort in such a manner that the fort is occupied but not besieged at the end of the round.
16.3.4 (Clarification) 1st Sentence should read: "The "Over There" Event may not be played before the turn following the play of "Zimmermann Telegram."
16.4.4 (Clarification) The "Fall of the Tsar" Event may be played only if the "Tsar Takes Command" Event has been played and the Combined War Status plus the Current CP Russian VP is 33 or higher. The rest of 16.4.4 remains unchanged.
16.4.6 (Clarification) The two numbered paragraphs should now read:
188.8.131.52 New Rule: When Brest-Litovsk is played Russian units may not operate outside Russia, Germany, Turkey, Austria and Romania-any units outside those countries should be eliminated. Russian units after Brest-Litovsk may never move through or stack with Allied units (and vice versa). Russian units currently stacked with Allied units are eliminated (interned). [This prevents the Allied player from using Russian units after Brest-Litovsk from protecting Allied units from attack.]
184.108.40.206 (Addition) German and Austrian units tracing supply to Sofia or Constantinople, Turkish units tracing supply to Essen, Breslau or Sofia, Bulgarian units tracing supply to Essen, Breslau or Constantinople, and Russian and Romanian units tracing supply to Belgrade may not receive replacements. In addition units may not SR to or from the Reserve Box under these conditions.
Munich is a VP space although the outline is a thick black line instead of red one.
Wireless Intercepts Card #2: (Clarification) This card is played during the Attempt Flank Attack step instead of the Play Combat Cards step. The CP player can not wait until the Flank Attack Attempt fails to play the card.
Withdrawal Card #6: (Clarification) This card must be played at the normal for card play which means it is played before the battle's outcome is known. Developer's Note: This represents a planned action and not a response to overwhelming losses.
Card # 13 The Rape of Belgium: (Add) The Rape of Belgium may only be played as an Event if the Allied War Status is still at Mobilization, not Limited or Total War
Great Retreat Card #27: (Clarification) If the Russians use the Great Retreat Effect in a combat there is no combat resolution and any Combat Cards are treated as unplayed (returned to the owner's hand).
The Kerensky Offensive card (Allied #45) is NOT a CC card.
Card #49: Sinai Pipeline may be played regardless of who controls the Sinai space.
(Clarification) Only one side may play the Entrench* Event per game.
In all scenarios add a CP Level 1 Trench at Giresun.
Questions & Answers