Monitor page
for changes
    
   it's private  

by ChangeDetection
Kasserine Errata and Clarifications
as of 25 Jul 2001
New items in blue.

Rules

The Coordination Die Roll Modifier chart shows a ‘-’ sign for Command Points applied to Ground Combat Units; this is an error. Rule 12.23 (b2) states that Command Points may be used for a Ground Combat Coordination. Change both cards to ‘Y’ on the Command Points line.

Committing Close Air Support was omitted from the Expanded SoP; CAS missions are placed between B.3.b and B.3.c (refer to 8.43), then resolved as indicated during B.3.h (the intent here is to have the players commit their CAS before they know the results of artillery coordination).

Under 8.71, the rules mistakenly indicate retreats for A-1,2 or D-1,2,3 combat results; the charts are correct in this case (e.g., retreats only occur when called for by an’ R’ result on the CRTs). So on an A2/D1 result, there’s no retreat (although there could be advance if the defender is destroyed by the D1).

Para 13.21, line 2, after the word 'Hex,' insert the following: ..if a shaded box combat result occurs,

Back of Player Aid Card 1 under Unit Halving section, ignore the different level for French and Italian artillery. Halving takes place for any artillery unit (regardless of nationality) that fails a coordination roll by exceeding its ER (but less than a 10, which per 8.41 means no support).

Rule 8.54a (Combined Arms Bonus), second bullet, add “armored infantry/panzergrenadier” to the list of unit types. Note that “armored infantry/panzergrenadier” type does not substitute for armor. As an aid to help remember this, please note that this unit type does not have an icon.

Allied Set-Up Card 3, line 2, hex 2123: replace French 2/I-67 with French I-67(-).

Clarifications

Red box and Orange circle MA units do not project ZOCs across escarpments at any time, nor across wadis during Rain turns.

Artillery is flipped and cannot support if an enemy units moves adjacent to it before it fires (9.26); ZOC does not matter (example: a Red box unit moves adjacent to an enemy artillery while they are separated by an escarpment - the artillery unit is still flipped).

On a ZOC to ZOC move (6.22a), all you pay is the +1 to enter the new ZOC plus the cost of the hex. There’s no cost to leave a ZOC. The “additional” MP is referring to 6.21a (+1 MP to enter a ZOC), and not any other additional MP cost.

In KASSERINE, a unit’s ER at any time in the game is judged by its printed ER less 2 if OoS and less 1 if disrupted (cumulative according to 5.14c). For example, an OoS and disrupted unit performing a Special Retreat roll (8.89c) would have its ER reduced by 3 for the check .

There are two counters for the American 2/168 unit in KASSERINE. The 4-4-5 ER5 counter is used for Scenarios 5 and 6 only (refer to listing on Axis Set-Up Card 2 Front for units not used in the campaign scenario. This counter represents the battalion after it had seen combat, and had received replacements before the Fondouk battles. The 3-4-5 ER4 counter is used for Scenario 2, the Kasserine Campaign. This counter represents the green unit seeing action for the first time at Sidi Bou Zid.

Treat each Air Strike mission as a separate entity. How you combine air units, and the sequence in which you run Air Strike missions is up to you (example: you have 6 eligible air units in your Ready Box - you could run three Air Strike missions using 1, 2, and 3 air units respectively, or two Air Strike missions using 4 and 2 units, etc).

The Combined Arms Bonus applies as written (8.54) - there are no other weather concerns.

There is no coordination roll for overruns (6.66). Mentioned column shifts may occur via Leaders (12.4) or Combined Arms Bonus (8.54).

In overruns, it is important to note that an overrunning unit does not actually enter the overrun (target) hex unless the overrun is successful (note the 1st paragraph of 6.6 that calls it an “attempt to move into an enemy occupied hex”), yet its terrain cost is part of the total overrun cost (+2 MPs per 6.63). The only ZOC cost in an overrun is for the hex adjacent to the overrun hex, if applicable. ZOCs projected into the actual target hex would not mandate the +1MP cost (per 6.21a) because again, the overrunning unit is not entering the target hex at that point.

ZOCs are ignored for all advances after combat (8.94), whether it’s a 1 or 2 hex advance (remember that Assault limits you to one hex, disrupted units can only advance 1 hex, and Orange circle units can’t advance at all).

The British Bisley plane is a later model of Blenheim type.

Q&A

Q: There’s a French 0-2-4 A/T unit (B/65) that does not have a red defense strength. Does it undo combined arms?
A: Yes it does (refer 9.42).
Q: When a single unit attacks, does it still roll for coordination?
A: Yes
Q: If a supporting artillery is adjacent to a defender hex AND adjacent to an enemy unit, can it still provide support to the defender hex?
A: No it can’t (“Non-Adjacent” for artillery refers to being non-adjacent to an enemy unit).
Q: If you conduct an overrun (or any attack for that matter) across a bridge hexside, do you still get the Combat DRM or does it only apply to overrun/attacks across unbridged hexes?
A: The DRMs apply equally to bridged/unbridged hexsides for attacks or overruns. Bridges or no bridges, wadis are real beasts when it comes to maintaining attacker coordination and continuity.
Q: When a unit obtains a No Retreat marker, can it keep this marker for further turns provided it doesn’t move?
A: No, the marker is removed during combat resolution (see sequence of play 3.j.2). The defender would have to roll again if attacked while it still occupies the hex containing the minefield or strongpoint.
Q: Does 8.77 (Reduced Losses) negate the need to take a lead unit loss? Example: A 7-1 attack on the Assault table. The modified die roll is a 4, a shaded A1/D3R result. The defending hex had only a one step unit which is thus eliminated. With respect to 8.77, would the A1 result need to be taken?
A: No, nor would it need be lost if the defender had two steps. It would be lost if the defender had three steps or more (or since this is a shaded box result, 9.43 and 11.33d may still apply).
Q: If a unit in a Woods hex with a major/minor road leading into it and is subject to an overrun from a connecting major/minor road, is the cost of the terrain in the defending hex counted as Woods or road?
A: The MP cost would be road MP (refer to 6.63). However, the Woods do have an effect on the overrun die roll, adding a +2 DRM per the Terrain Effects Chart.
Q: On Player Aid Card 4, Victory Point Schedule, “For Exiting Axis Units at: - Tally VPS on printed GT”, how many units are required to earn the listed VPs for exiting?
A: At hex 5101, Axis must exit an 4 units. At hexes 2401 and/or 3801, Axis must exit any 7 units (total, over the two hexes). See 15.28.b3. For Allied exiting at 7004 and/or 7005, rule 15.25e gives the requirements.