Monitor page
for changes
    
   it's private  

by ChangeDetection
June 6 Errata and Clarifications
and Frequently Asked Questions
as of 12 Mar 1999
New items in blue.

I. Rule Book

  • Page 6, 6.13a.1., reword section to read: " the unit is within four hexes of the activated division HQ, and"
  • Page 6, 7.11.b, add: Exception: 7.50 Corps Activation
  • Page 6, 7.12, add: Note: See 7.24 for limitations.
  • Page 6, 7.24b, add: Note: Some units of several formations enter the map prior to the formation HQ entry and receive RE markers as a result. When their formation HQs activate at ME and enter the map, immediately remove RE markers from these units - they activatee at full ME with the rest of the formation units.
  • Page 7, 7.53 and 7.54, add after each para: Note: The second AM for each division chosen for Corps Activation may still be purchased normally for the AM Pool.
  • Page 10, Release example: Note: while the release example works as written, the actual release number for Pz Lehr is 6 (as noted in the PlayBook) as opposed to 4 as shown in the example.
  • Page 12, 13.14, add: Any unit with a Dis-2 marker which receives a Dis-1 or Dis-2 result is flipped to its reduced strength side (or eliminated if it has only one step to lose).
  • Page 14, Delete old 13.73 Exception. Replace with: 13.73 Exception: When a single combat unit's cohesion (or a single combat unit stacked with one combat support unit) is greater than the cohesion of any enemy unit in the combat, that single combat unit treats any Dis-1 or Dis-2 result received as Dis-1, and any Reduced result received as Dis-2.
  • Pages 16 and 17, paras 17.22 and 18.22, add this sentence to each para: No more than one air or naval bombardment may be applied to any target hex.
  • Page 18, 20.21, begin first sentence with: To cross Major Rivers.....
  • Page 18, 20.21, add: An activated Division HQ can use its engineer capability to allow two of its activated foot units to utilize ARC.
  • Page 18, 20.22, add: Qualifying German or Allied HQs provide the engineering capability for one additional activated foot unit to use ARC.
II. Play Book
  • Page 6, 2.71, June 7/8 Turn, Omaha Beach Landing Box: 743+749 AR Bns/29 Division should read 743+747
  • Page 6, 2.71, June 9/10 Turn, Utah Beach Landing Box: 624 TD Bn/VIII Corps should read 634
  • Page 6, 2.71, June 11+12 Turn, Utah Beach Landing Box: delete entry for 607 TD Bn/90 Division (the AT effects of the Bn were factored into each regiment of the division).
  • Page 7, 2.72, June 9/10 Turn, entry areas E or F, clarification: the counter corresponding to 17SS Recon/17SS PG Division is the 17/17SS 3-3-5 motorized infantry counter.
  • Page 7, 2.72, June 11/12 Turn, Entry Area B or C: add 7 NW Bde/XLVII Pz Corps (also has automatic entry)
  • Page 9, 2.84.c.3: After last sentence in this paragraph add the following: Note - prior to beach landings, after the Allied player has placed all of his parachute units, reveal this chit to the Allied player if any Allied parachute units have landed on or adjacent to the re-deployed division. If an Allied parachute unit lands in a hex containing a re-deployed unit, the Allied player immediately reduces the parachute unit and moves it to any hex adjacent to the re-deployed unit. If there are no vacant (non-enemy occupied) hexes available, the parachute unit is destroyed. The beach landing will not longer be a surprise, but should still remain unpleasant. The Allied player still receives the 2 VPs.
  • Page 9, 2.85c - add sub-para 7: is presumed to have roads running from beach hexes to connect with existing road hexes.
  • Page 11, 4.3 Deploy Allied Units, add new para 4.3.4: 79 Division (all units) HQ/79 - W3616, 313/79 - W3716, 314/79 - W3817, 315/79 - W3817
  • Page 11, 4.3.1.c 643TD/VII should read 634TD/VII
  • Page 13, 6.22.b, line 4: E2510 and E2522 should read E2025 and E2032 respectively.
  • Page 14, 6.23.a, lines 2 and 6: E1435 should read E1436
  • Page 14, 6.41.b.1, 30/49 should read 33/49
  • Page 15, 6.51.a.3, 3d line, delete "...and 2SS Pz Div,"
III. Charts and Tables
  • Combat Results Table: Die Roll Modifiers section, Disorder: Should read -1 if any Att unit is disordered; +1 if any defender is disordered.
  • Bombardment Table: Add note below table: Pinned units lose their MA for the remainder of the GT. They may not advance after combat. Units with artillery points may not use them to support or bombard. NW units cannot bombard.
  • How To Read Units Card: Armor Silhouettes: Jaddpanther should read Jagdpanther
  • TEC, note a: efefect should read effect. In addition to note a, there needs to be added a new note i:
    add footnote i: applies to the Road Move (two units in hex) for both foot and motorized: exception - always add +1MP in city, clear and village terrain hexes.
  • Victory Point Chart: The enrty release number for all three German Reinforcement Groups is 5.
  • Combat Result Allocation Codes Box: Replace Exception at bottom of box with the following: Exception: When a single combat unit's cohesion (or a single combat unit stacked with one combat support unit) is greater than the cohesion of any enemy unit in the combat, that single combat unit treats any Dis-1 or Dis-2 result received as Dis-1, and any Reduced result received as Dis-2.
  • Explanation of Combat Results: Add the following sentence to Reduced: If a stack of two or more units suffers a Reduced result, only one unit (owning player's choice) must be Reduced.
IV. Counter Sheets
  • Reverse side of British I Corps reads V Corps - should read I Corps
  • Reverse side of 741+754/2 (the paired armor bns for US 2d Div) is missing. The reverse side and all values are printed on the How To Read Units card. Front side of 741+752/2 is missing the white no ZOC band (refer to How to Read Units Card).
  • Disregard 634/VII counter except for use in Scenario 3. It is an erroneous duplicate of the 634/VIII, and is not used (except in Scenario 3).
  • 4/VII C armored cavalry rgt - disregard the white No ZOC band on both sides of the counter.
  • 70/4 Tank Bn counter. This unit may well have been equipped with Shermans. If desired, utilize this counter as a 2-6-8 tank bn instead of the printed values of 1-6-9.
  • Naval marker Akansas should read Arkansas
  • 7NW/XLVII Pz C should have brackets around DS1 as do the other NW units.
  • Reverse side of 30/LXXXIV is missing. The reverse side and all values are printed on the How To Read Units card.
  • 101 StW/ Cher is missing its reverse side. Treat reverse side identically to any of the other German NW units. The values on the front of 101 StW remain identical on the back except that the bombardment diamond is replaced by the red "fired" circle.
  • Clarification: I-6/91 FJ Bn is a one step unit despite its CS of 4 (note: the bn surrendered when surrounded on D-Day)
  • Disregard the yellow artillery point circle on HQ, III Flak Corps. This HQ has no artillery points.
  • German 394/2Pz mot rgt should read 304/2Pz front and back.
  • German 1053/85 inf rgt should have CS 4 on the reverse side instead of 6.
V. Maps
  • West Map, hex W1016: The entry box for Entry Area F did not receive yellow coloring as did the boxes for entry areas A-E, but is printed on the map in the woods of hex W1016.

Frequently Asked Questions

Index:
Section I. Activation Markers (AMs)
Section II. About the Units
Section III. The Beach Landings
Section IV. Movement
Section V. Terrain
Section VI. Bombardment and Combat
Section VII. Combat Results
Section VIII. Supply and Isolation

  • Activation Markers
    1."Am I correct in presuming that whenever a Corps level unit (not just an HQ) comes in as a reinforcement, both Corps AM's go into the pot?"
    Yes, this is correct. Example: US and Commonwealth Corps reinforcements arrive on the June 7/8th turn, the Allies player receives both US and Commonwealth Corps AMs free.
    2. "The German Player failed to activate the 12th SS Pz Div on June 6 (failed his hesitation rolls). Does he get both AMs for free on June 7/8?"
    Yes. The 12SS, being off-map, gets treated as a non-released reinforcement, so the two AMs are free on the 7/8 GT (and the same would apply to the 711 Div too if it fails both June 6 hesitation die rolls).
    3. "The US and British Para HQs don't come on until June 7/8. Does the Allied Player get two free AMs for these formations on June 7/8?"
    No, the AMs for all the divisions were in play on the June 6 GT, so they have to be purchased normally on the 7/8 GT.
    4. "The entire British 7th Armored plus most of 51st Division troops arrive during the RE Phase of June 9/10. Does the Allied player get two free AMs for each of these formations on June 11/12?"
    No, if you want to activate these formations at ME on the 11/12 June GT you have to purchase the AMs.
    5. "Can the Ranger/Commando/ACR units be moved other than during a Corps AM draw, or can they be attached like combat support units?"
    Yes, they can be attached. The rule states that any non-HQ unit organic to the Corps can be attached, so it makes no difference if the corps assets you want are combat or combat sppt. I often end up with a Corps HQ only to move during a Corps AM activation because everyone else has been attached (you can cut down on the number of Corps AMs purchased as a result).
    6. "Units without an HQ on the map at the end of the game-turn get a RE marker placed on them. Now what if their HQ comes in as a reinforcement the next game-turn with the two free AM's? Does the unit that came on the turn before still wait until the RE phase while all the other units coming on this game turn move twice in the ME phase?"
    If a HQ has been destroyed in combat, Para 6.17 allows you to immediately remove the RE markers from units organic to a HQ when it re-enters the map. There is also an errata addition to cover the fact that when units enter the map prior to their HQ, they also lose their RE markers as soon as the HQ enters the map. Once the reinforcing HQ lands (or enters the map for the Germans) the RE markers are removed. HQs arriving as bona fide reinforcements allow the RE markers to be removed in the ME phase as soon as the HQ arrives (allowing them to activate at ME). Reduced HQs returning after being destroyed allow the markers to be removed in the RE phase (allowing only RE activation for that GT).
  • About the Units
    1. "The 12/12 SS Recon has an armor point on one side, and an anti-tank point on the other (black box on the full strength side, white box on the reduced side). Which did you intend them to have?"
    Both. The values are correct. It appears that the 12SS Recon had a fair number of assault guns, enough for an armor point on the front side. We figured if the unit gets reduced, most of them are lost, and the AT duties then fall back on the towed AT weapons. There are a couple other German Recon units which have similar values for the same reason.
    2. "What are some of these tank silhouettes on the How To Read the Units Card such as Somuas, R 35s, etc?"
    The Germans used a lot of captured armor. The Somua was a French tank used by their DLMs (the equivalent of a mechanized or panzer grenadier division) in the 1940 campaign. Large numbers were captured and put to use as training tanks or converted to self propelled AT guns. The Renault 35 was a mediocre 1940 French tank used almost solely as a training tank by the Germans. The Marder tank destroyer was built on a French Lorraine chassis (the Lorraine was a French tracked ammunition carrier).
    3. "I've noticed that the backs of some HQ units have the fired symbol and the same CS-C-MA values as the front; these must be one step-loss units. Other HQ backs seem to have step-loss CS-C-MA values and lower artillery points; these must represent units that can be reduced and still be capable of artillery fire. Is this right?"
    Correct. Corps HQs are one step units, and if lost, they do not come back (and losing them is a very bad thing, as one player noted). All division HQs are also one step units, but most of them can return at reduced strength (the reverse sides of the counters) if eliminated.
    4. "Is it correct that the CS of the 2 FJ units increases to 8 on their reduced sides (from 7 at full strength)? So once they've taken losses they get even tougher, eh?"
    Yes, and for the reduced strength mot inf in the 12SS Pz Div too. We don't subscribe to the Germans = supermen school of thought (witness the scores of low cohesion units), but these two divisions, by all accounts, got even harder to finish off as they were being cut to ribbons. If these high cohesion units are alone in hexes, the only effective ways to kill them off are bombardment, prolonged isolation, and forced retreat through hexes in Allied ZOCs.
    5. "Are the US Ranger units Combat Support Units? (Can they be reduced by beach resistance?)"
    They are combat units, and they are eliminated for the duration if reduced by beach resistance or combat loss. All combat support units have No ZOC Bands (except for 741+754/2 ar bns which should have but does not- see errata), and all combat units do not (except for 4/VIII Ar Cav Rgt which does but should not - see errata)
    6. "I like the DP units in June 6th. They have a good design effect with little fuss. I didn't see any mention anywhere in the rules about whether they can be "generated". Have I missed something here?"
    No, they don't get to come back.
    7. "Regarding rule 19.13, is the DP removed if the adjacent Allied unit (with remaining MP's) cannot enter the DP hex even without the +2 penalty? (due to terrain or a foot unit moving from ZOC to ZOC)"
    Apply the rule literally. If the moving unit must stop adjacent to the DP hex with MPs remaining for whatever reason, remove the DP.
    8. "Has anyone found a good use of the German ability to breakdown units?"
    Delay, delay, delay. A good example is the 352d Div. It has one CS6 rgt (915/352) at start which has two steps and the potential to take a maximum of 6 Dis results before being eliminated. Since this rgt is probably going to die quickly, if you convert it into three breakdown units, you now have three steps and a maximum of 9 Dis results you can absorb. The breakdown units are not as combat worthy as the original rgt, but even so, they last a little longer. There are other cases: If you have but one unit available to block two roads, or if you need to leave a sacrificial "stay-behind" unit in a position where it will be surrounded and destroyed (but take up an Allied unit's activation to do it), leave a breakdown unit instead of a full strength unit.
  • The Beach Landings
    1. "It seems as though an awful lot of units can be pinned during the invasion via bombardment or landing on the beaches, but I only received perhaps 10 Pinned markers. Have I missed something?"
    No, the choice was either more combat units and less info markers, or vice versa. You see the result. After the June 6 GT, the need for Pinned markers will drop somewhat, mainly because the airborne drop won't be repeated. For the June 6 GT, as a stop-gap, try using the Bridge Blown markers - there's not a great demand for them initially.
    2. "During the invasion phase -- June 6 -- what happens if, during the invasion, due to die rolling and Pinned results, all the units can't come ashore due to the stacking limitations? Can we overstack? Wait for June 7/8?"
    If only a few get pinned, all can land if some foresight is used in the order of landing. Overstacking is not allowed. Units in the Beach Landing Boxes unable to land due to the prohibition against overstacking wait until June 7/8 GT.
    3. "If a unit is not pinned on the beach, it gets to move half its movement allowance. Question: does that include the hex the unit landed in?"
    The answer is in 8.47b. The MA cost to go from the Beach Landing Box to the beach hex is 1/2 of the unit's MA, rounded up. A British Inf bde with MA of 5 would spend 3 MPs before it gets to the beach, and then a 4th MP to enter the beach hex. If unpinned, it is now free to move a whopping one hex further inland!
    4. "Do landing units pay the extra +1 MP if their landing hex is in a enemy ZOC?"
    Yes, they do.
    5. " May Combat Support Units land on an empty beach hex that is in a enemy ZOC? (referring to rule 11.14)"
    No, a combat unit must land first.
  • Movement
    1. "With regards to using roads without strategic movement: Can a unit that has been using a road and is about to enter a clear hex with another friendly unit veer off the road and just pay the 1 MP for clear?"
    Sorry, the +1 MP applies, making the clear terrain hex more expensive than normal. Your moving unit has either hit a traffic jam, or has created one. The extra MP cost is what it takes to get out of it. The moral of the story is move the lead units, where possible, to clear the road for the follow-on units. Note: in the errata section it now also costs +1 MP to use road movement to enter a clear hex with two units already stacked in it.
    2. "Can someone clarify whether or not Division HQs can move in the same activation in which they provide offensive fire support?"
    Yes they can.
    3. "Do the same rules apply to Corps HQs?"
    Yes, though often their arty support is attached by an in-range subordinate HQ when the Corps HQ itself is not activated. The HQs can move when activated, before or after being flipped to their "fired" sides.
    4. "Also, can Corps HQs move in the same turn they launch bombardments?"
    Yes again.
  • Terrain
    1. "Is it just me or are people finding it difficult to differentiate between cliff and bluff hexsides? I gather that most are cliffs - could anyone clarify on where there are any bluffs?"
    The only Bluffs on either map are located in the Omaha Beachsector. They are along the hexsides of hexes E3118 and E3019.
    2. "A quick question regarding blowing bridges - can I blow a bridge which is in range of my HQ, but does NOT have one of my units adjacent ?"
    Sorry, one of your units has to be adjacent to at least one end of the bridge to make an attempt.
    3. "Am I overlooking the definition of ZOCs in this game? Only reference I can find is that Combat Support Units don't have one, and that Motorized units don't project a ZOC into a marsh hex, except on roads. What about cliffs, bluffs, rivers, etc.?"
    Other than the reference on the TEC about motorized units and marsh hexes, units project ZOCs into all other adjacent hexes. You can make a case for no ZOC where a unit can't cross a terrain hexside, but we figured in the end that except for marsh, the combined effects of observed fire and movement of some sort would be enough to allow units to exert ZOCs (not to mention keeping the game a little simpler).
    4. "Can the SP (strongpoint terrain) benefit the allies?"
    No, only the Germans. It's always a good idea for the Allies to destroy strongpoints when they occupy hexes containing this type of terrain, to prevent the Germans from ever using it again.
    5. Spelling corrections:
    Countances should be Coutances - Treviers should be Trevieres - Bourgubus should be Bourguebus - Sommerviey should be Sommervieux - St Claire sur l'Fille should be St Claire sur Elle - Querqeville should be Querqueville.
  • Bombardment and Combat
    1. "TOT barrages--what is the +2 modifier referring to: observed, massed fire?"
    First of all, the acronym TOT stands for Time On Target. The +2 DRM always applies to TOT fire missions. The Nebelwerfer +1 DRM always applies when NW units bombard. The TOT DRM is there because the American artillery was, quite simply, the best in the world at bringing down massed fires accurately on short notice. Their specialty was Time on Target missions where a large number of in-range weapons would fire so that virtually all shells would impact simultaneously - a very effective tactic.
    2. "The rules state that only US Corps HQ can bombard. Is this accurate, or was US used accidentally instead of Allied? I only ask because I've seen this sort of mistake in other (not GMT) games."
    Yes, the rule is correct saying only US.
    3. "Where in the rules are the effects of being Pinned spelled out? I couldn't find it."
    Pinned Effects - Any unit with a Pinned marker cannot move [RB8.22] or advance after combat[RB13.41]. HQs, the NW bdes or the 5th US Arty Gp with Pinned markers cannot provide arty sppt or bombard in addition to not moving or advancing [RB16.13] . So long as a unit does not move or attack, it can undertake Disordered Refit. Pinned units do retreat identically to non-Pinned units.
    4. "When we calculate combat odds do we round down, or up and down?"
    Rounding can go up or down to the nearest combat odds level. In most games, raw odds of 13 to 5 would be rounded down to 2 to 1 odds,, but in J6, since 13 is closer to 15 than 10, you round up, and the odds become 3 to 1.
    5. "Which way does a 1/2 combat odd round (e.g. 7.5 is 7-1 or 8-1)?"
    Well, that's a situation that never came up in playtesting. If it does happen, roll the die: 0-4 round down; 5-9 round up.
    6. "How are DRMs handled for attacks involving multiple hexside terrain? (example: an attack from 2833 across minor river and 2834 across marsh hexside on defending hex 2733?)"
    In this case, both hexside terrain types have a -1 DRM, and since all attacking units are attacking through -1 DRM hexsides, the defender receives the -1 DRM.
    7. "If the defender has a Disorder 2 and the Attacker has no disorder markers does the Attacker get a +1 or +2 DRM on the attack die roll?"
    It's +1 for either Dis level. Also, if the situation were reversed, and the attacker had a Dis 1 or 2 marker, the defender would get a -1DRM. Both DRMs are often applied to the same combat (and offset each other). The only difference between Dis 1 and 2 is that it takes two disorder refits to make a Dis 2 go away vs one for a Dis 1, and a unit with Dis 2 is just one disorder away from reduction (or elimination).
    8. "While it is easy to tell the difference between the stand and retreat chits for the defender, I can find no reason for using the probe chit as the attacker. The probe table, while limiting the bad results for the attacker, also limits the ability to advance. What was the intent?"
    At the cost of possibly not being able to advance, you save damage to your troops. Another advantage is that the attacker can avoid the bocage ambush with the probe attack. When to utilize Probe? Most often Probe is beneficial in those attacks where the +DRM is so high that a potential -3DRM for Probe vs Stand won't materially impact the final result, or where the German player will see the high Allied +DRM and elect the Retreat option to try to avoid step loss. If the net +DRMs are high, you also will get a lot of advance results, though in bocage terrain, you can advance only along roads.
    9. "Is there any limit on how high/low the combat DRM can go? I saw +11 in the combat example, so I assume there is no limit, but I wanted to be sure and couldn't find it in the rules."
    There is no upper limit, though in practical terms, the world's most favorable J6 attack would probably max out at somewhere between +15 and +20.
    10. "Just to make sure I'm clear on things: the 12RP corps activation is the only way two or more units from separate divisions can attack an enemy unit simultaneously?"
    Two divisions cannot attack simultaneously. Refer to RB 7.56.c and d. Each infantry div in the corps activates one at a time, followed by the Armored, Pz, or PG divisions (also one at a time). If you've got your attacking units positioned well, you can hit an opposing portion of the line twice from two different infantry divisions, and then a third time with a follow-up Armored or Panzer/PG division (assuming there is one in the corps you have activated). While not simultaneous, this can be pretty devastating because the defender doesn't have a chance to refit between your attacks in a corps activation.
    11. " If units from more than one division are defending in a single hex, may each represented divisional HQ contribute its artillery points to supporting the defense (provided they are all in-range, of course)?"
    The answer is yes. The ability to combine artillery points is there as a concession to playability, and to act as something of an offset to the crushing Allied artillery superiority that you have. The German defenders don't have any unfair advantage in the artillery department, and are doing very well if they can scrape together enough artillery for any defensive combat to reduce or negate the normal Allied artillery support bonus to 0. If the Germans attack Allied defender hexes where more than one HQ can contribute artillrty support points, you are replicating history because the Germans usually took heavy losses from Allied artillery when they abandoned covered positions to attack. If you are attacking as the Allied player, you still will have a +1 or +2 DRM for arty superiority a majority of the time (even when the Germans can combine artillery points from two or more HQs), and that is good enough.
    12. " Is there any limit on the number of times divisional artillery points may be used during a turn?"
    No, there is no limit on the number of times a division's artillery can be used on the defense when organic or attached in-range units are attacked, and the limit on the number of attacks supported each time activated depends on how many ways you want to allocate the available points. This is a concession to playability in the form of higher Allied Divarty point levels vs the German divarty point levels. The German points were set lower to reflect the effects of ongoing Allied air attacks on battery positions plus effective Allied ground and naval counter-battery work. The "fire as often as you like for divarty" was put there primarily to keep the game from becoming a runaway Allied artilleryfest. Once you've played J6 a little more, you'll probably notice that even if a German divarty can fire each time an in-range unit is attacked, the Allies are still going to get a +1 or +2 DRM for artillery superiority in a majority of cases (which replicates what occurred in Normandy). One play tip: Air or naval bombardment can negate some of these troublesome HQs and their attendant arty points for an entire turn if you obtain a Pinned result.
  • Combat Results
    1. "Retreats and ZOC's 13.35 b. states that units must retreat 1 hex unless 1st hex entered is in a enemy ZOC. Is the unit required to stay in the first hex entered w/ reduction or must it retreat another hex w/ reduction?"
    Start with 13.31 - Retreats are mandatory and must be taken. From this basic premise there are only a couple of situations which would cause a unit not to retreat. They are: 13.32 - a unit may not enter a hex or cross a hexside prohibited to it by the TEC, and 13.34 - a unit may not enter a friendly hex if it would exceed the stacking limit in the hex. If the unit can retreat, and the first hex is in an enemy ZOC, it is reduced, and must retreat a second hex.
    2 "What effect does the enemy ZOC hex being friendly have on 28.a. above?"
    In terms of preventing step loss - none. A retreating unit passing through an enemy ZOC in a vacant hex or a friendly occupied hex still suffers the one step reduction. A friendly occupied hex may actually prove to be a detriment if the 13.34 overstacking situation arises. Having the friendly unit adjacent is most helpful in a non-retreat situation. When LOCs are traced during the end phase, friendly units adjacent to surrounded units allow the surrounded unit to possibly trace a LOC [5.32] and avoid isolation.
    3. "I am a little confused by the exception under rule 13.73 on page 14. Single units with higher cohesion than any enemy unit ignore disrupted and reduced results. This seems to give the German SS and FJ units a big advantage. Was this the intent?"
    Yes, it is the intent. Parts of the German line can stand very well where these units are located, but once surrounded (which often happens when one sector holds well while another falls apart), they die quickly. As the Allied player, the two Ranger Bns always seemed to end up spearheading the V Corps attacks against 3FJ for this very reason of not allowing the Germans to avoid the losses and disruptions.
    4. "I am a little confused about the combat results as they apply to single units. For instance, I had a single unit attacking and a single unit (with a higher cohesion) defending. When it came time to apply results, I got an all units except the unit with highest cohesion is reduced for the attacking unit. How do I apply that?"
    Paragraph 13.73 of the rules applies here. Single units are assumed to have the both highest and lowest cohesion, and may be subject to more than one result. Apply "double" results to single units as follows:
    • If the results are Retreat and Disorder, both apply to the single unit.
    • If the results are Retreat and Reduced, both apply to the single unit.
    • If the results are Reduced and Disorder, apply only Reduced.
    In this case where both a Dis-1 and a Reduced result are received, the single unit must take the more severe of the two, the Reduced result. As a final point about para 13.73, remember the exception (as amended in the errata) which allows single units with cohesion ratings higher than all opposing units in the combat to treat Dis-1 and Dis-2 as Dis-1, and Reduced as Dis-2.

    A couple of examples:

    • Full strength 18/1 (9-6-6, cohesion 6, no Dis marker) attacks full strength 5/3FJ (8-7-4, cohesion 8, no Dis marker). The combat modes are Assault and Stand. The final modified die roll is 9. The attacker result is E Dis, rest must advance. The 18/1, being the only attacking unit, must take the Dis 1 result. It cannot advance due to the Dis 1 marker it now carries. The defender result is D Reduced, and B Dis-1. Under the provisions of 13.73 (as amended in the errata) , the single 5/3FJ would normally have to take the more severe result (the Reduction), but the exception to 13.73 applies here. Since the 5/3FJ cohesion of 8 is higher than the cohesion of the 18/1, it receives a Dis-2 result. The end result of this combat is that the 18/1 receives a bloody nose (even with a favorable die roll), and the 5/3FJ comes away hurt far less than a unit with a lower cohesion would have been.
    • Full strength 8/4 (8-5-6, cohesion 5, no Dis marker) attacks full strength 919/709 (6-3-4, cohesion 3, no Dis marker). Combat modes are Assault vs Stand. The final modified die roll is 2. The 919/709, being the only unit, takes the E Dis-1 result. The 8/4 receives E Reduced and C Dis-2 results. Applying 13.73, the Dis-2 is disregarded, and only the E Reduced would be applied. However, the 8/4 cohesion is higher than the 919/709 cohesion, so it disregards not only the Dis-2 because of 13.73, but also has the Reduced result lowered to a Dis-2 result because the Exception to 13.73 (as amended in the errata) applies to the 8/4.
    5. "Rule 13.73 Exception: Does this mean that if the single unit's cohesion is greater than ALL of the enemy units it can ignore Disruption/Reduction, or does it mean that if the single unit's cohesion is greater than any ONE of the enemy units it can ignore Disruption/Reduction."
    Check all of the opposing units' cohesion values and note the top value (you can't just pick one of the opposing units at random, take its cohesion and compare). Compare this value to your single unit's cohesion value. If your cohesion is greater than the highest opposing cohesion that you noted, you benefit from the exception to 13.73. You must exceed all of the opposing cohesion values before the exception applies.
    6. "In reading the bocage ambush rules, it appears that the Allies are subject to ambush if they get a mandatory advance, even if the units can't advance due to being DIS-1 or the Germans did not retreat. Correct?"
    Mostly correct. The ambush must be rolled for even if the German units do not retreat (it's assumed that the ambushes are taking place within the contested defender hex even though on the map the Allied units have not physically advanced into it). The Allied player rolls the die for each eligible [13.41] unit... Para 13.41 does not allow units bearing Disorder, Scattered or Pinned markers to advance after combat, so if some units started combat without Dis markers, but received them as part of the combat result, they cannot advance, and therefore do not get rolled for if Bocage Ambush is possible. There may be cases where technically Bocage Ambush is possible, but all attacking units have picked up Dis markers - then Bocage Ambush is a moot point because there can be no Allied advance.
  • Supply and Isolation
    1. "Can the two hex non-road distance for LOC be traced at any time, i.e., in the middle or at the end, or must it be from the unit to a road which runs to the supply source?"
    The two hexes has to go from the unit to a road leading to the supply source (unless the unit happens to be so close to the map edge that it can trace directly to the source without using a road).
    2. "If a unit that is marked as isolated can trace a LOC during the next turn, does it still suffer the isolation effects?"
    Yes, until Isolation Determination in that GT's End Phase. Isolation generally is delayed in being implemented since most units become "isolated" during the game turn before actually being declared Isolated in the End Phase. Losing the Isolated marker, as stated above, is a delayed process too.
    3. "One other thing, I understand that isolation halves CS, correct?"
    Yes, Isolation does indeed halve CS.
    3. "For supply status, shouldn't an Isolated unit have 1/2 CS on attack, but full CS on defense?"
    No. The reasons for reducing CS by half on defense were twofold. One is that enough "unseen" patrol and probing actions are going on all the time, so any isolated units, even passive ones, would soon be running low on ammo, especially the Germans who were living hand-to-mouth anyway. The second reason was for play balance. Paras or SS in Bocage or worse yet, in Bocage with SPs, are the world's worst to kill frontally. The only effective way to kill them (other than the German player doing you the favor of attacking you with them)is to surround, isolate and destroy them. J6 is designed so the German player has the potential price of encirclement and loss to pay if deciding to stand and fight with these excellent combat units.
    5. "Is a unit which already possesses an Isolation marker in the Isolation Determination phase still Isolated, and does it retain the Isolated marker?"
    Yes.
    6. "I assume it also receives another Dis-1 (possibly reducing or eliminating the unit) and rolls for surrender again?"
    Yes again.
    7. "Just a quick confirm. Can LOC's be traced over Major Rivers? (only reason I ask is because of the engineering abilities of HQ's allowing foot units to cross and the LOC definition of impassible)"
    LOCs get traced across major rivers only at bridges (either existing bridges or pontoon bridges that you construct). You can trace the two hex non-road portion of a LOC across a pontoon bridge because the bridge has rendered an impassible terrain feature passable.