Battle for North Africa Errata
1.Tobruk, for those who couldn't find it, is L3535 (and don't ask).
2. A "Pass" is any escarpment or ridge hexside crossed (or apparently crossed) by a Track: e.g., L3439-3338 is a pass hexside across a Ridge. Remember, as per the chart, you always pay the +1 Pass cost; it is never halved by the track.
Combat Results: CLARIFICATION. When it says "All Units Reduced," this means that any assets are Eliminated (as they have only one side).
Fortification Effects: The letter "D" refers to "Reduced." And the "No Retreat" decision must be made before rolling the die.
Allied Random Withdrawal: The gray chart is correct; the map chart is not (slightly).
Allies Master Reinforcement:
Axis Master Reinforcement, Sept 41: CLARIFICATION. The German Refit extras may be saved for later.
Terrain :The [c] note for Passes means that you always pay that +1 to cross a pass hex; the "track halving" does NOT apply to that +1.
(4.2.1) CLARIFICATION: The Parent divisions is noted at the top of each counter (not the second line). Units without this identifying piece of information are "independent" units.
(4.2.5) CLARIFICATION. HQ's that suffer ANY adverse combat effect - even one that would require them to roll a die - are, instead eliminated. However, HQ are not affected by ANY combat result as long as there is a combat unit in the hex.
(4.3.3) CLARIFICATION. Units whose HQ has been drawn and who are In Command Range are not eligible for activation in a Secondary Phase even if they did nothing (in the Primary).
(4.41) Units out of Command Range(4.3.4) may, if still out of range in the Secondary Phase AND if they did not move in a Primary Activation Phase, move in the Secondary Phase.
(4.42) CHANGE. The costs to leave a Transit Box (6.64 and 6.65) must be paid, even for units moving in the Secondary Phase. Thus, Transit Box RP costs are also an exception to 4.42.
(4.4.6) ADDITION. Units moving in the Secondary Phase may not end their movement outside their LOC. Units that start such movement outside their LOC must move towards re-establishing the LOC.
(6.1.4) EXCEPTION: an absorbed asset may not be moved by its "carrying formation" into a hex into which the asset would normally not be able to enter.
(7.2.7) ADDITION: The presence of a friendly unit in a hex negates an enemy ZOC for the purposes of tracing LOC and determining retreats… but not for normal movement.
(8.24) CLARIFICATION. Do not use MA's of attacking assets (other than recce units).
(8.28) Clarifications on Continuous Movement: 1. First hex entered must be the one vacated by the defender 2. If, in any combat engendered by CM, a unit gets a 2nd CM (which it cannot use), it may still Advance into the vacated hex.
(8.29) CHANGE: A unit that cannot, for any reason, complete its Retreat is Reduced. ADDITION: A unit may Retreat into a City, and stop, and "satisfy" the mandated hex retreat. This does not apply to units that start inside a city (unless fortified). (8.34) Clarification: This is not on a 1-1 unit basis; armor uses its full CS as long as it is stacked with any infantry (foot or motorized) in the hex.
(8.5) ADDITION: For Air Support Missions 1 and 2, the target hex must be no further than 30 hexes from the nearest friendly Village/City (as per 9.2.6). This does not apply to Malta missions. ADDITION: A player may place a maximum of two (2) AS markers per AM. ADDITION: "Air Support Reaction." The non-phasing player may, in reaction to his opponent's placement of Air Markers for Ground Support (only), place Air Markers in defense, during his opponent's AM. All Air rules apply, and AS markers may only be so placed in a hex in which the AM/phasing player has allotted AS.
(9.1.5) CLARIFICATION: RP are also paid for leaving the Transit Boxes (in addition to Activation costs), as per 6.6.4
(9.2.2) CLARIFICATION: RP for purchasing Air Markers are expended immediately upon purchase, as per 8.5.1, not when used
(9.3) ADDITION: Refit in Tobruk. If units in Tobruk cannot trace a LOC to a non-Tobruk Supply Source (i.e., Tobruk is cut off), Refit may be accomplished solely by Naval Transport. A player may refit 2 on-map units by naval Transport, as long as he does not transport any units that turn, To that end (only), the Allies (not the Axis) may use Bardia-to-Tobruk (but not vice versa) for Naval Transport.
(9.3.5) CLARIFICATION: The Allied Armor Upgrade maximum is 6 units; the Axis is '4'. Unfortunately, we printed the latter counters on back of the former. Not bright.
(9.4) ADDITION. A Fortification is reduced one level when a player enters that hex by means of combat. This is the only way to reduce Fortification levels.
(9.5.5) CLARIFICATION. Italian Surrender lasts through March 41 (as it says on the back cover Sequence).
(10.0) ADDITION: "B" (RR Movement): The Allied Player may do this with any AM, regardless of the transported unit's parent organization. CLARIFICATION: "C" and "D" Apply to first non-Transit Box AM chosen.
The 1940 Scenarios
The 1941 Scenarios
Credits: Marty "Andruss" should be Marty Arnsdorf (sorry, Marty!)