SPQR 2nd Edition Errata
November 11, 2000
2.4 [Finished Leader]: Delete "such as Personal Combat". There is no Personal Combat in SPQR.
4.1 [Line Command]: There is no slash on the leader counters. The Line Command Capability is in the shaded box. The end of the last sentence should read: "may issue a Move and/or Fire order to all units in that number of lines."
4.42 [Exception:] The beginning should read: A Tribune or Praefect may issue Orders to any and all …". Line commands are covered in 4.43.
4.52 Clarification: A leader is not forced to withdraw and is only eliminated if he is not stacked with a friendly combat unit. This applies both to attacking and defending leaders.
4.72 Reference should be to 4.53 not 4.52.
5.23 [Item #3] First sentence should read: An activated leader may issue a Line Command and move along with that line as long as he starts within two hexes of a moving unit from that line.
5.31 Second bullet item should read "was not previously Trumped (5.44) or Bypassed; and"
5.44 Clarification: Only those leaders with a lower Initiative rating than the leader who successfully Trumped are considered Bypassed.
6.15 Replace entire case with: "Leaders, even if they are on Leader Elephants, have a Movement Allowance of 9. The Leader Elephant MA comes into effect only if the Leader Elephant moves without a Leader. Leaders have no facing and do not pay any cost to change facing. Leader Elephants DO have a facing but pay no cost to change."
6.58 Clarification: Commanders may issue only one PW Line Command per turn, even if they have '2' capability (such as Hannibal).
6.68 Delete the fourth bullet item: "For all TQ die rolls for stacked units, add one (+1)". The stacking chart lists the specific situation where this condition applies.
6.72 Clarification: Phalanx units with two Movement Allowances use the higher of the two as the basis for Column movement.
6.77 Add the following: "Units in Column may NOT stack under any circumstances."
7.15 Addition: Reaction Facing Change: Any single-hex unit (not double-hex units) may change facing ONE vertex (per Phase) when an enemy unit moves adjacent to it. It may not do so if it is already in an enemy ZOC. After changing facing, the unit rolls the die; adjust that DR by adding the difference between the MA of the moving unit and the MA of the stationary unit. (E.g., an '8' MA HC charging a '5' MA HI would result in a +3 DRM.) If the adjusted DR is higher than the defending unit's Troop Quality , the unit receives Cohesion Hits equal to the difference. Exception: Cavalry changing facing in reaction to infantry movement do NOT have to make a die roll. If successful, the reacting unit may use Reaction Fire.
7.23 [Item #2] Delete "or an LC"
7.26 Clarification: If "heavy" unit moves into a hex with a friendly unit and has an enemy unit in its ZOC, it must Shock attack even though it’s at the bottom of the stack. Moreover, the unit it stacked with must also Shock attack. Only the moving unit and any defenders must perform the TQ Check.
8.0 Delete "and Reduction in Size because of Casualties taken."
8.11 Second from last sentence should read: ‘A unit may fire during movement only if it moved forward (towards the target) immediately preceding actually firing or fires from its starting hex.
8.13 Add to the last sentence: "…if fired at from the front or flank, to the bottom unit if fired at from the rear."
8.14 [Item #3] Delete last sentence: Item #4 applies to Roman javelin armed units as well.
8.21 [Retire Reaction] Delete " or whenever a unit uses Orderly Withdrawal to avoid the enemy missile unit (as per 6.5)"
8.33 Add: Exception #3: See 9.24.
8.35 Last sentence should read: "If a unit is being attacked through the vertex between different facings by a double-sized unit, that defender gets the benefit of the most advantageous facing.
9.11 Clarification: If an Elephant attacks two units, both units add (+1) to their respective TQ checks. Any hits incurred are distributed per 10.12. Both units undergo a Pass-Thru TQ check if applicable.
9.21 [First Bullet] Clarification: Skirmishers will never inflict more than 1 Cohesion hit on an enemy during Shock.
Add: ** Routed SK units on the map in the Rout Movement Phase are eliminated.
9.51 Change: In any Shock Resolution in which a non-PH unit moves and Shock attacks a PH frontally, the Shock column is adjusted two to the Left (2L) for each flank of the PH that is covered either by another PH unit or a PH ZOC (enabling echelon to work).
Example: If 2 LG's attack a PH frontally that has other PH units in each flank hex. The Shock attack is resolved, assuming no other adjustments, on the '1' column (they start in '5' and get shuffled 4L to '1'). This means that, on average per Shock, the PH will take 1, maybe 2 hits; but each LG will take 2 or 3. Good way to lose a couple of LG.
9.55 Routed (see 9.56) Double Depth Phalanx units must retreat to separate hexes. If not possible, the unit is eliminated instead.
9.56 Add: [Phalanx Rout]. Phalanxes, and all double-sized Heavy Infantry as well, do not Rout like other units. Each time any of these units incurs Hits greater than or equal to its TQ, the player rolls the die -- the PH Rout DR. (EXCEPTION: There is no "Saving DR" if the hits were a result of Position Superiority by the enemy it automatically Routs) He adds to that DR:
** a number equal to the amount by which Accumulated Hits exceeds TQ. (Thus, a PH with a TQ of '7' that has incurred 9 hits would have +2 added to the Rout DR; and
** +3, if the PH was attacking at the time.
If the adjusted DR is = or < the unit's TQ, the unit Stands, in place, with hits = TQ minus 1.
If the adjusted DR is > the unit's TQ, the unit is Routed and retreats two hexes (as it would normally do when routing). In the Rout Phase, all Routed PH (et al) are Eliminated -- removed from play.
10.35 [Sixth Bullet] Should read: "A Routed unit that suffers any additional Cohesion Hits from Missile or Shock attacks, or fails a TQ check, is immediately eliminated and removed from play. Routed units do not incur Cohesion hits from Movement."
10.42 Clarification: If a Pursuing cavalry unit becomes adjacent to any Routed unit, the pursuing cavalry may attack that unit as if it were the original Routed unit.
10.43 Clarification: Victorious cavalry that are in danger of routing because of post-combat cohesion checks still roll for Pursuit. If they do pursue off the map, they then roll for Collapse. If they fail that dieroll, they are now in the Pursuit Box in a Routed state. They stay there - and may not be moved - until either rallied or the rally fails, in which latter case they are eliminated.
Elephant Command/Charge: The first time in a battle that Elephants are given Orders/Line Commands they do so normally. However, after that there are only two ways of giving Orders/LC's to EL's:
** They may be moved by leaders - either through Orders or Line Commands - if that Leader is stacked with one of the Els so moved and remains so stacked throughout the entire Phase; or
** In the R&R Phase, at the end of a turn, a player may place an Elephant Leader marker (which you don't have, but use anything) on any EL unit in an Elephant Line. That EL Leader has an Initiative of '1', so he will tend to go first the following turn. When that EL leader's turn does come, all EL's in that Line may move. However, they must move their maximum MA (if possible), and they may not change facing, except at the start of their movement (in the hex in which they start).
Elephant Leaders may not use Momentum, do not give Orders (only LCs) and they have no other purpose other than indicating that that EL line is going to Charge. A player may not have more than two ELCs on the map at the start of any turn.
(6.6) The Stacking Charts
Rout/Retreat Movement and Stacking Chart
Note: If the stationary unit is Routed it suffers the results of this chart just like a non-Routed unit. If it receives a Cohesion Hit, the unit is eliminated.
(8.51) The Missile Range and Results Chart
(10.4) Cavalry Pursuit Table
Roman Camp Terrain Effects Chart
Make sure you are using the SPQR 2nd Edition supplement for the this module. The 2nd edition of War Elephant does not have all the necessary changes.
(3.0) SPQR Rules Addenda for War Elephant